Skip to main content

Kevin J Mahoney

Criminal defense Attorney at Cambridge, MA

4.9   48 reviews
  • State Years
    Massachusetts - MA 34 years
    New York - NY 17 years
    Dist. of Columbia - DC 32 years
  • Licensed for 34 years
    State MA
    Acquired 1989
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 17 years
    State NY
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Resigned No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 32 years
    State DC
    Acquired 1992
    Status
    Administratively Suspended - Non-Payment of Dues No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Kevin

Learn Kevin’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    65%
    Mahoney has won 44 of his last 47 trials* and has been lead counsel in more than 100 trials and appeals. He regularly provides on-air legal analysis for Fox News Live, Fox & Friends, CNN, Nancy Grace, and Court TV's Catherine Crier Live. Court TV's Forensic Files chronicled his successful defense of Christina Martin, the "Jell-O Murderer." His new book, Relentless Criminal Cross-Examination is available from James Publishing Company.

    32 years, 5,000 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    15%
    Mahoney has been representing those accused of driving while intoxicated for almost two decades. He dedicated an entire chapter of his best selling book, Relentless Criminal Prosecution, to teaching lawyers how to cross-examine the police officer who arrested a driver for OUI.

    32 years, 500 cases

  3. White collar crime
    10%
    Relying on a variety of forensic experts, Mahoney has won acquittals for those accused of embezzlement (allegedly over $400,000.00) and other white collar crimes.

    32 years, 100 cases

  4. Animal law
    5%
    Mahoney has developed a niche practicing representing individuals in custody disputes over pets, and defending those accused of stealing a domestic companion animal. He is also available to defend dogs at risk for being put down.

    21 years, 5 cases

  5. Appeals
    5%
    Both as an Assistant District Attorney and as a Defense Lawyer, Mahoney has been successfully winning appeals before the Appeals Court and the Supreme Judicial Court. As an Editor of the New England Law Review and author of the best selling book on cross-examination, Relentless Criminal Cross-Examination, he has nearly unmatched writing and legal research skills.

    32 years, 100 cases

Attorney Mahoney has won 52 of his last 55 trials* and has been lead counsel in more than 100 trials and appeals. Considered a master cross-examiner, his book "Relentless Criminal Cross-Examination" is a best seller. Fellow lawyers, court personnel, police officers, physicians, MIT and Harvard professors, a former top-level Pentagon official, and a rock star, as well as the poor, the downtrodden and reviled have entrusted Mahoney with safeguarding their liberty. Because of his impressive trial record and his willingness to tee it up, prosecutors frequently offer his clients very favorable plea bargains.

---

In his spare time, Mahoney can be found backpacking through the White Mountains, Glacier National Park or remote areas of Iceland, deer hunting in Pennsylvania, running along the Charles River, hiking the rain forests of Costa Rica, living it up in Reykjavik, or competing in No-Limit Texas Hold’em poker tournaments.

Photos and videos

Location

Mahoney Criminal Defense Group
545 Concord Avenue
Suite 22
Cambridge, MA, 02138

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  48 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
2%
Posted by Danielle | September 15, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Genuine, brilliant, simply the best.
It is difficult to find the words to describe the incredible work Attorney Mahoney did on my behalf. He represented me in a DUI case and I was absolutely terrified of how this might impact my family, my professional life and my personal life. Right from the start, Attorney Mahoney was attentive, professional, compassionate, brilliant and incredibly detail-oriented (and has a great sense of humor). I had a lot of anxiety and worry about this experience and Attorney Mahoney offered constant reassurance and I never felt judged by him. He always took the time to explain things to me in a way that I could understand, and if I was having a difficult time understanding something, he would go over it again until he was certain I did. He put in hours upon hours of time on my case, and he never charged me beyond our original agreement. He pored over hours of video footage from the arrest after his work hours, would call me when he had a question, and prepared me for trial, leaving no stone unturned. He even engaged with me in a "mock" trial so I would know what to expect on the day my case went to trial. Ultimately, the charges against me were dropped because of the tireless work Attorney Mahoney did on my behalf. As a daughter of a lawyer, I can honestly say that Attorney Mahoney is the best out there. If you are looking to be represented by a lawyer, he is the one for you.
Read less
Response from Kevin Mahoney October 8, 2023
Thank you, Danielle, for the kind words. It was a pleasure to represent you and I am pleased that we were able to obtain for you the result you deserved. My warmest regards, Kevin J. Mahoney
Posted by anonymous | May 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolutely Brilliant!
Mr. Mahoney is absolutely brilliant, hardworking, and goes above and beyond! I hired him to represent me in a restraining order case against an ex boyfriend. He spent a considerable amount of time preparing for the hearing, on short notice. He analyzed a large number of text messages, screenshots, and documents and made sure I knew exactly what to expect during the hearing. He called on a Sunday evening, the night before the hearing, to see if I had any last-minute questions. I was anxious and asked him what type of questions I might be asked. He then spent 45 minutes conducting what seemed like a mock hearing. This made me much more comfortable and I felt well-prepared and confident. It eased a lot of nerves. Mr. Mahoney is a compassionate human being. There were many times when I called in anxious. He was patient, listened to my concerns, and addressed them all. He showed a great deal of empathy and understanding. He always kept me informed of every update, no matter how minor. He was reassuring, yet completely honest in his assessment of our chances at winning. Mr. Mahoney severely underestimated the amount of work he ended up putting in for this case and undercharged me. He estimated what’s necessary, but still put in a lot more time than that. It seemed he was accustomed to putting in whatever time is necessary to guarantee a win. His impressive reputation as a lawyer matters more to him than the compensation he receives and his competitive spirit won’t let him accept anything less than perfect preparation for and presentation at the hearing. We had agreed on a flat fee, but the case became more complicated as it progressed, as my ex sought custody of my pet in a separate hearing. What should’ve been over in a month dragged for close to a year. Mr. Mahoney remained professional and honored the flat fee. He never made me feel like I deserved any less of his time as a result, and did not hesitate to continue putting in 110% of the effort. His dedication and devotion to his work is unlike anything I’ve ever seen. He anticipated every possible thing that could go wrong, every argument that my ex or his lawyer could make, and every move they could conceive of. This kicked up my anxiety a bit, as I was constantly worried about the worst case scenario, but paid off well, as we were always steps ahead of everyone and everything. We won our case and by comparison to Mr. Mahoney, my ex’s lawyer seemed so incompetent. Mr. Mahoney had been preparing me for possible avenues that my ex’s lawyer could take, some of which would’ve been smart to do. Yet his lawyer never thought of or never attempted those options. My ex was also clearly un-prepared, as it seemed like some of his answers were not something that his lawyer had anticipated. Mr. Mahoney asked had me so many questions prior to the hearing, even when I was hesitant to go into painful or embarrassing experiences. He gave me the option to speak to his paralegal if I was comfortable or to type things out. He made sure he had all details, so that we were well-prepared and put together the strongest argument. I suspect that any lawyer would seem inept by comparison to Mr. Mahoney’s experience and dedication. It was so reassuring to have a great lawyer by my side! I did not know this prior to hiring Mr. Mahoney, but he is one of the top attorneys in the country (listed top 100 nationwide). He wrote a book on cross-examination and was featured in Forensic Files’ “Dessert Served Cold” episode. I thought I would see a short clip of him, but he actually was so central to the story, that his showing up alone was a major turning point. His work in that case was very impressive, but I think what’s most important is that it shows how willing he is to do diligent research that other lawyers might not be motivated enough to do. I am very confident that he is the best lawyer you could ever hire!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 26, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
11/10 would recommend
I found Attorney Mahoney during a google search. I went on multiple websites looking for legal advice/help since I had no idea what or how I needed to go about dealing with my troubles. I saw that his website said “relentless defense,” and that is exactly what I got. After seeing he wrote a book on criminal cross-examination it made me feel at ease when choosing to move forward with getting in contact with his office. If you’re looking for someone that will go to the ends with you, Mr. Mahoney is your man. When it came time to meeting for the first time in his office in Cambridge, I could tell that he was extremely well qualified. Everything was extremely professional, and well executed during the year or so that I was one of his clients. To make helping me easier, I wanted to make sure that he had all the information and necessary documents that I could get my hands on. He was surprised at how quickly I got everything together (within ~24 hours). When he put together statements, documents, etc. I always received a copy which made me feel more comfortable with how things would go once we appeared in court. When it came time to court appearances, I knew that I needed to put my best foot forward dressed in a pant suit. I didn’t need much counseling on how to appear in front of a judge, whether it be what I was wearing or my facial expression. Due to my own anxiety about being in a court house, I had a tendency to arrive an hour or so earlier than was expected. Mr. Mahoney always called to let me know of his whereabouts to ensure the fact that he was not going to be late. If traffic hit, and he knew he was going to be late, he always contacted the court so that I would not appear in front of a judge without him there; it was very comforting. Mr. Mahoney was also very succinct, articulate, and eloquent with how he talked to the judge. It made my anxiety about appearing in court fade. Since he’s worked as an attorney for a while, he’s been in front of many judges before. If he knew that all about the background of any of the judges I appeared before, he advised me to behave accordingly. His insight on judges around Boston made me feel confident that he knew exactly what he was doing. There were several times that he attempted to get in touch with the DA that had my case, Mr. Mahoney always kept me in the loop about these attempts as well; it made me feel well taken care of during a very difficult time in my life. When you read on his website that he’s had 50/53 wins in court, it is easy to see why he will have your best interest in mind, and you should go forth with hiring him. His paralegal, Ms. Nanour Bedoyan, was also just as helpful during my time using Mr. Mahoney’s services. She was on top of the case just as much as Mr. Mahoney. Over the past year or so that I have known and been in contact with Mr. Mahoney he has been nothing but professional and insightful. If you are looking for an attorney that will fight for you instead of against you, I strongly advise you choose Attorney Mahoney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 23, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Expertise, commitment, and determination
I hired attorney Mahoney to defend me against a Title IX accusation. It was, and is, incredibly important to have the best defense possible because Title IX does not afford one the same rights of due process that one would assume one would be given in a court of law. Attorney Mahoney helped me navigate this difficult process with his expertise that only comes from years of experience. He worked tirelessly (for example, returning calls well after 8pm on multiple occasions). Attorney Mahoney's passion and dedication to supporting the people he defends is incredibly apparent and drives his efforts. Thanks to Attorney Mahoney's invaluable counsel, we were able to win my case. Attorney Mahoney also has a knowledgeable and helpful staff who were fantastic.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 8, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Great advice
Had a consultation regarding an issue with my nursing license. He is very thorough, professional and knowledgeable. I was given great advice and he took time to listen and assist me with issuing a well composed statement. He instilled confidence in me and I am optimistic about the outcome. I will hire him in the future if indicated regarding this matter.
Read less
Posted by Natalie | February 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstandingly competent and caring; you can't go wrong hiring Attorney Mahoney
After extensive research and interviewing, I hired Attorney Mahoney for my son who was facing a wrongful charge. From the moment we met Mr Mahoney, we knew that the research had paid off. Not only was he extremely competent, but the advice that he gave us was direct and insightful. He did not sugar coat anything and clearly laid out all the risk factors. As a mother of a college student from a distant state who was unfamiliar with the mores of Massachusetts, I was relieved that we were in such safe hands. Not only did Attorney Mahoney win our case after impressive work inside and outside the courtroom, but he also added some caring and fatherly advice for my son. Having him as my son's attorney really helps me sleep at night!
Read less
Posted by Guil | May 23, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding performance.
I first contact Mr. Mahoney back in 2014 regarding a case I had pending from 2007 for a few criminal charges. I was living in the UK at the time but wanted to get things resolved here in the U.S. He was the only lawyer that I spoken to that actually listened to my story and gave me the time of day. It took me a couple of years to save up so that I could make the move back to the States and face my charges with a Professional lawyer by my side this time. I landed in the U.S. the day before Thanksgiving with my wife and kids. Mr. Mahoney was there to make sure I could get bailed. This all took a lot of planning and commitment on his part. We spend hours and hours going over my case and preparing for trial over the last few months. Mr. Mahoney was very transparent on what could happen on the day of trial but at the same time very confident, which definitely helped me during this stressful time. A couple of days before trial Mr. Mahoney was able to strike a plea with the distric attorney which I was very happy to accept. In court Mr. Mahoney was very professional and confident. Even though my case didn't end up in trial I believe all of his hard work and time spent with me was money very well spent which ended up landing me a free man. He has helped me get resolution from something that had been weighing on me for the last ten years of my life and I am forever thankful. I highly recommend Mr. Mahoney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 23, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Simply the best!
I was simply lost and not sure where to go until I found Kevin Mahoney, I had complicated criminal multiple citations related to road accident, which he is was able to take care of it all in one shot. When you are summoned by court it is frustating since we don't have anything in control but I did the very right thing by going to Kevin Mahoney and describing my situation, after hearing my case he took my case and handled it profesonially. I am happy and lucky to find him and I hope this review makes the reader in deciding the right lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Robert | April 14, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
OUI Defense
When I was charged with OUI, Attorney Mahoney walked me through the process, explained my options and worked with me for the best possible outcome. I found him to be honest and direct. I recommend him to family and friends and if I need legal help again in the future, will not hesitate to contact Attorney Mahoney again.
Posted by David | March 30, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Put in the effort necessary to secure a favorable result.
I hired Atty. Mahoney to defend my daughter from what might be thought of as a minor charge, but one for which a conviction would have had a major effect on her life (OUI). Kevin did not treat this as a minor matter but put in in the necessary effort to get the relevant facts, present them convincingly to the jury, achieving a successful result.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Phenomenal Attorney
I was arrested for OUI that involved a minor motor vehicle accident. When I called Mr. Mahoney, he was able to meet with me the next day for a free consultation. I found him to be very professional and he explained all the options that I had very clearly. Instead of going to trial, I decided to resolve the matter at a pre-trial hearing, and Mr. Mahoney was able to help me get a minimal sentence. After the pre-trial hearing, he contacted the courthouse and made sure that I would not need to go to court again for a restitution hearing, since my insurance company had already paid for damages to the other party. I could not be more pleased with Mr. Mahoney's representation. He is a great attorney, and I could not recommend him more.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Class Act
I contacted Attorney Mahoney following a DUI charge that involved a minor motor vehicle accident. During my consultation with Attorney Mahoney, I was concerned that a potential guilty charge would impede my travels, to visit my elderly parents in Canada. On my behalf, Attorney Mahoney promptly contacted an immigration lawyer who determined that with my dual citizenship I still would be granted reentry to Canada. Since I could have been barred entry for five years, this knowledge was invaluable and decreased my stress considerable. Attorney Mahoney was not only receptive to my concerns, but also accommodated my work schedule when he arranged court dates and his appointments. Over twelve months, I met Attorney Mahoney several times and always found him to be professional, knowledgeable and extremely supportive. He was generous with his time during appointments and always returned telephone calls. Attorney Mahoney, was very thorough in my trial preparation and even took pictures of the accident site on a Sunday morning. The morning of my trial his diligence was extremely reassuring; fortunately, my case was dismissed. I am grateful that I contacted Attorney Mahoney after reading positive Web reviews and I would unequivocally endorse him, since he exceeded my expectations.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Against All Odds
After recommendation from a close friend of mine, I hired Mr Mahoney to represent me in arguably the hardest position of my life. I had been accused of a Title IX Sexual Assault case at my university. All over the news and social media, sexual assault has become a hot button issue. The statistics for a male trying to defend himself against such a brutal allegation show a clear pattern in which the complainant is given a significant leg up. Despite being innocent and having no clear evidence against me, it seemed as though in a battle of he said, she said, that I was somehow deemed guilty until proven innocent. Mr. Mahoney knew exactly the magnitude of fight we would have to put up in order to win this case. Mr. Mahoney tirelessly spent hours late into the night helping me to prepare my defense in an arena that had been stacked against me. Mr. Mahoney understood the odds that we were faced with and fought with a might unparalleled to any professional I've ever met. If there was ever a man for the job, this is the one. The amount of payment I was able to offer is but a fraction of what his time is worth. My gratitude cannot be expressed enough. Despite having a small window of time to work on this and being involved with a number of other clients, Mr. Mahoney made it clear that his priorities lie within all his clients and that he would always get the job done. I highly recommend this man not only as a professional but as a fighter. His description of relentless defense is nothing short of exact. Hiring Mr. Mahoney was the greatest decision I could've made in such a brutal moment in my life, and I hope that this review can do justice to the level of appreciation I owe to this man.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Genuine, Dedicated, Capable
Before I retained Attorney Mahoney I spoke with half a dozen other lawyers about my legal troubles. After six disheartening meetings at these other firms, I arrived at his consultation with low hopes. When I walked out an hour later, however, I knew he was the man to help me. Unlike anyone else I spoke with, Mr. Mahoney began strategizing immediately. He took me seriously and didn't bullshit me in the hopes of winning my business. Instead he was honest, forthright, and his command over the law was immediately apparent. His expertise got me through a very trying time in my life. Attorney Mahoney worked hard and impressed me with his dedication to my case, often helping me late into the night. Despite our packed schedules, he made himself available when I needed him and was very supportive. He's a fighter who cares strongly for his clients. By his own description, Attorney Mahoney is relentless. In everything that he did to help me, he more than lived up to that reputation. I would recommend him to anyone.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 9, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
“Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work.” Aristotle
I once had a mentor tell me that the most important quality to look for when hiring or collaborating with someone is to look for passion in their work. Passionate work above all else will guarantee excellence. Kevin Mahoney is passionate about criminal defense. I was recently accused of the very serious crimes of assault and battery and assault and battery with a dangerous weapon in a domestic situation. I was innocent of the charges laid out in the police report, but knew that it looked terrible on the surface. I was also aware that the climate in court rooms for domestic cases is no nonsense as a result of recent media attention. I thought the best I could hope for was a CWOF with some heavy probation and attendance of a batterers course. I talked to two lawyers before seeing Kevin, one basically told me I was going to jail, and the other told me that the case was simple and he would have it cleared up within a month. He then immediately asked for a retainer without even seeing the police report. Kevin, on the other hand, immediately laid out a clear logical strategy on how to attack the problem, both from a possible plea situation or in the event of trial. I hired him after that initial consultation, thinking that his 52 wins out of 55 trials, in addition to him literally writing the book on criminal cross examination (http://jamespublishing.com/shop/relentless-criminal-cross-examination/ ) would partially persuade prosecutors into a favorable plea agreement. Kevin was relentless from that moment on. He attacked the case from multiple angles which included photographing the crime scene, motioning to repress certain evidence, hiring a private detective to collect further information, interviewing the “victim” who was friendly to the defense, and helping draft letters to the DA from various people in support of my character. In the end, this multi-prong strategy lead to an outcome I thought was impossible, the DA’s office dropped the case on the day of the trial. Kevin saved my career and my future. If you want to be passionately defended in the court of law, hire Kevin Mahoney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Skilled, committed, thorough.
I had an excellent experience with Attorney Mahoney and his staff. I was charged with a drug-related misdemeanor that could have jeopardized my career. During my consultation, Mr. Mahoney reviewed my case with an analytical eye, presenting my options to me in a fact-based, yet non-judgmental approach. His years of experience in this field were apparent based on his skillful and professional presentation of my case during my hearing, which ultimately resulted in community service, saving me from losing my professional license. Additionally, throughout the entire process, his administrative staff was polite, responsive and highly organized, making the experience much less unpleasant. I highly recommend Attorney Mahoney.
Read less
Posted by Susan | October 13, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Compassionate, Honest, Godly Man
As Albert Einstein said, "Only a life worth living, is a life living for others." This truly portrays Mr. Mahoney! Mr. Mahoney initially came to meet our family member because he had been sent money and asked to represent her by a "so-called friend." After meeting with our family member, he discovered the money was unethical & refused the money but he most generously and graciously took the case Pro-Bono (as I am on minimum wage and unable to afford an attorney). What an exception to the rule and reputation of attorneys! Our family member's first attorney, court appointed, barely could give her the time of day, yet, Mr. Mahoney has made numerous trips to the correctional facility to spend quality time at great length. He makes sure to follow up with either me or another family member, by phone, to keep us updated. In the visits, phone calls & court appearances, Mr. Mahoney has been of the utmost respectful, compassionate, patient, never brushing us off or giving us the feeling he's too busy to discuss or give helpful advice, especially taking into consideration, he in NOT receiving one cent! His generosity has gone over & above - he has even sent books that she desired to read & support for supplies, to our loved one. He truly has a heart from God! This case is very challenging & trying & without complete cooperation from our family member. Although we (the family) never dreamed a loved one would be incarcerated & as emotionally devastating & crippling as this has been for our family, God truly blessed us with Mr. Mahoney! He has relentlessly continued to work for the best outcome & future for our loved one! Mr. Mahoney is an unbelievably honest, dedicated, sincere hearted, compassionate, Godly man, that unequivocally utilizes God's purpose - for him to help other people. I feel blessed that God sent Mr. Kevin Mahoney to represent our loved one!
Read less
Posted by Carrie | August 22, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thankful for someone we could trust
My daughter ran into a situation recently that left her in need of the advice and representation of a defense attorney. We chose the Law Offices of Kevin J. Mahoney, and we are glad we did. What I know from this experience is that we don’t see a set of circumstances the same way the courts do, and you need an attorney who not only knows how to defend you, but also can explain the courts in a manner you can understand it, and give wise counsel as to what to do. We were confident with Attorney Mahoney, and due to our life situation and circumstances, he represented my daughter pro bono. I am go glad that we left her situation in the hands of a professional we could trust. Thank you Attorney Mahoney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 24, 2015
Outstanding Attorney
Attorney Mahoney is an exceptional lawyer who has gone above and beyond for me. I was a victim in a domestic violence case and I needed help navigating the legal system in regards to separation of assets, finances and personal belongings. He charged me a flat rate and never asked for more money even though the case required more time than he originally anticipated. He has helped to ensure my safety and protection and has reached out to the district attorney’s office on my behalf as well as the defendant’s attorney so that I wouldn’t have to. His knowledge, guidance and legal actions have helped me transition through a very difficult time. I highly recommend him and can’t say enough good things about him. People say lawyers are just in it for the money but attorney Mahoney is an exception. He really cares about his clients. I don’t know what I would have done if I didn’t have him to walk me thru the legal process.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 10, 2015
Kept me out of jail!
I was slapped with a Possession with intent to distribute Class A drug, a pretty heavy charge. I was facing jail time and I was convinced my record was destroyed. My best case scenario, in my head, was heavy probation. I met with Kevin after seeing him on TV and advertised online. He instantly reassured me he would put his all into my case. After my first court date he proved he was telling the truth. He is the best defense attorney I have ever witnessed, and is so passionate about his career, and very well educated on what he does. He ended up getting my (and my codefendant's) case dismissed, and everyone was completely shocked. Best lawyer by far, and I would recommend him to ANYONE!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • On-Air Legal Analyst
  • Fox News
  • 2005 - Present
  • President
  • Law Offices of Kevin J. Mahoney, PC
  • 1993 - Present
  • Associate
  • Lecomte, Emanuelson, Tick & Doyle
  • 1993 - 1993
  • Assistant District Attorney
  • Middlesex County District Attorney's Office
  • 1991 - 1993
  • Judicial Law Clerk
  • Connecticut Superior Court
  • 1989 - 1990
View all work experience

Education

  • New England School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1989
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1986

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Commonwealth v. F.S.
  • Not Guilty
  • Commonwealth v. DM
  • Not Guilty
  • Commonwealth v. B.M.
  • Not Guilty
View all legal cases

Associations

  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Life Member
  • 1997 - Present
  • Massachusetts Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 1997 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • Portuguese
  • Armenian

Honors and Awards

  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2015
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2013
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2012
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2011
  • The Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • American Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2010
  • The Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • The American Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2008
  • Member
  • National Registry of Who's Who
  • 1999
  • American Jurisprudence Book Award for Advanced Trial Practice
  • New England School of Law
  • 1989
  • Listed
  • Who's Who Among American Law Students, 9th Ed.
  • 1989
  • Listed
  • Who's Who Among American Law Students, 8th Ed.
  • 1988
  • Member, New England Law Review
  • New England School of Law
  • 1987
View all awards

Publications

  • James Publishing publication
  • The Title IX Sexual Harassment Handbook
  • 2018
  • New England Law Review
  • United States vs. Stanley, Has the Feres Doctrine Become a Grant of Absolute Immunity?
  • 1990

Speaking Engagements

  • Inaugural Conference
  • Cross-Examination
  • 2011
  • Greater Boston, with Emily Rooney
  • Mahoney discusses the trial of Joseph Nee, who allegedly masterminded a Columbine style attack on Marshfield High School.
  • 2008
  • WCVB
  • WCVB interviews Mahoney outside Framingham District Court following client’s arraignment on charge of motor vehicle homicide.
  • 2007
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes developments in Duke rape case.
  • 2007
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes three recent 1st Amendment cases pending before the Supreme Court.
  • 2007
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney comments on prosecution’s forensic evidence against Phil Spector
  • 2007
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney provides three hours of on-air coverage of breaking news on Bobby Cutts, Jr. arrest for the murder of Jessie Davis.
  • 2007
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes prosecution’s case against Phil Spector.
  • 2007
  • Fox & Friends
  • Mahoney discusses prosecutorial immunity from civil lawsuits with morning show in aftermath of dismissal of Duke Lacrosse rape charges.
  • 2007
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney comments on Mary Winkler murder case
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney discusses preferential treatment of Patrick Kennedy in OUI accident.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney discusses Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney analyzes Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney discusses Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney comments on Duke rape case.
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney examines Secret Service involvement in Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt stolen baby photographs
  • 2006
  • Fox News Live
  • Mahoney comments on JonBenet Ramsey murder investigation.
  • 2006
  • CNN/Nancy Grace
  • Mahoney defends Attorney Elliot Weinstein’s handling of Neil Entwistle’s murder case.
  • 2006
  • Forensic Files
  • CourtTV’s Forensic Files airs “Dessert Served Cold,” chronicling Mahoney’s successful defense of Christina Martin, dubbed the “Jell-O Murderer” by the national press.
  • 2004
  • CourtTV’s Catherine Crier Live
  • CourtTV’s Catherine Crier Live. Outside the Cambridge Superior Court, Mahoney discusses the prosecution’s case against Alexander Pring-Wilson, accused of stabbing victim to death.
  • 2004
  • CNN
  • CNN interviews Mahoney on case against Martha Stewart.
  • 2004
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (4)
Given (3)
Endorse Kevin
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Kevin since the early 1990's, when we were colleagues together at the Middlesex District Attorney's Office. As criminal defense attorneys, we have represented co-defendants in a high-profile perjury case. I have found Kevin to be a well-prepared, articulate fighter for his clients. I enthusiastically endorse him for those seeking representation for a criminal defense matter."
Lawsuits and disputes Attorney | Aug 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have had the pleasure of working with Attorney Mahoney on various cases and routinely solicit Attorney's Mahoney's council on litigation matters. Attorney Mahoney relentlessly and diligently represents his clients using the full extent of his vast abilities. Drawing upon his comprehensive trial experience combined with a brilliant legal mind and meticulous attention to detail make Attorney Mahoney a powerhouse in the courtroom and across the negotiation table. I would recommend Attorney Mahoney without reservation."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Kevin. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer.His responses on avvo evidence a deep understanding and knowledge of the law."
Litigation
Criminal defense