Skip to main content

Stephen T. Novick

Criminal defense Attorney at Boston, MA

5.0   11 reviews
  • Licensed for 20 years
    State MA
    Acquired 2003
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Stephen

Learn Stephen’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    25%
    100% Criminal Defense Lawyer. OUI/DUI, Drug Cases, Assault, Battery, Murder, Manslaughter, Rape, Sexual Assault, Larceny, Forgery, etc.

    21 years, 1,000 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    25%

  3. Sex crime
    25%

  4. Violent crime
    25%

Attorney Stephen T. Novick understands the severity of a criminal charge which is why he has dedicated his firm to the practice of it. He is a former police officer and police prosecutor who understands the justice system. He has been trained in investigation techniques as well as interrogation, interview and racial profiling. He is a member of the American Bar Association, the United States Supreme Court Bar Association, the Massachusetts Bar Association and the Massachusetts Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. Attorney Novick was admitted to practice law before the Supreme Court in 2008, a high honor for an attorney. He not only has extensive experience in legal practice, but has pursued a high level of education in it receiving a BS in Law Enforcement, an MS in Criminal Justice Administration, MBA and his Juris Doctor from New England School of Law. He excels in the study practice of criminal defense, and shares his strong comprehension of it by teaching graduate level criminal law and criminal justice classes. 

Photos and videos

View more

Location

Novick & Associates, LLC
60 State Street
Suite 700
Boston, MA, 02109

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  11 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | March 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Steve Novick Review
Steve was a great guy to hire in a bad situation - in my case an OUI in Massachusetts. Steve knew everything there was to know about the law, and most importantly for me, the process. He was early for every court date, responded to every email I sent on the same day, often within minutes (including weekends)... and he negotiated the best outcome I could have hoped for (it was my decision not to go to trial). I'd hire him again, though of course, I hope I never will have to.
Read less
Posted by Andrew | June 8, 2015
Outstanding Lawyer!!
Steve is extremely knowledgable and did a great job getting me out of a misdemeanor assault charge. He was very up front and honest and did a great job walking me through the whole process. At the clerk hearing Steve was the calming presence in the room and the whole time he had my best interest in mind. All around great lawyer, highly recommend!
Read less
Posted by CF | December 30, 2014
Successful OUI Defense!
Attorney Novick represented me on an OUI case. He was successful in getting a "Not Guilty!". He really knows what he was doing and the jury deliberated for less than 10 minutes! I would recommend Attorney Novick to anyone with a criminal case. A friend of mine had a drug case where Attorney Novick was also successful. Highly recommend.
Read less
Posted by Jeremy | December 10, 2014
Not Guilty!!
Attorney Novick got me a "not guilty" on a case that other lawyers wanted me to plea out to. I wish I found Mr. Novick first. I tell everyone I know that has gotten arrested to hire him. He is great in court. Well worth the price because I probably would have paid more in fees and fines if I plead out.
Posted by Cellia | October 23, 2014
Must Hire for Criminal Defense!
Attorney Novick knows how to defend people accused of a crime! He used to be a cop and knows all the ins and outs. He was honest with me and always easy to get in touch with. I have used him twice and have sent 3 other people to him as clients. Everyone had good results.
Posted by Ken | October 22, 2014
Attorney Novick Will Fight for You!
I was indicted on crimes and Steve Novick was the only reason why I didn't end up in jail. He fought for me and stood up for my rights. I would recommend him to anyone accused by the police of a crime. High recommendation.
Posted by JT | September 5, 2014
Attorney Novick saved my life!
If I received a conviction, I would lose my career as well as my freedom! Attorney Novick was compassionate and understanding with me yet aggressive with the prosecution. He really knows his stuff!
Posted by James | January 10, 2013
Honest, responsive, and up front criminal lawyer.
I contacted Keegan & Novick, P.C. because I was arrested and charged with a criminal case. I did not commit a crime. I contacted this firm because I liked their website. They both used to be cops so they know their stuff. I ended up with attorney Novick. He believed in me and I did not feel judged. I was always able to get in touch with him when I needed to. In fact, he even gave me his cell phone number! I never had a lawyer do that before. All of the charges against me were eventually dismissed. If I had hired a different lawyer, I don’t think I would have gotten the same outcome. Novick handled my case aggressively and he hired a private investigator to look into things. Everything worked out great. I was glad I was able to find him at such a low point in my life.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 23, 2012
Overall Positive Experience
I have consulted with Attorney Novick on several different occasions and I have found him to be nothing short of amazing. Attorney Novick was always forthcoming with information, he never "beat around the bush" and always spoke to me so that I understood what he was talking about. He is a straight shooter and absolutely someone I would want on my side should the need arise again. He is compassionate, honest and always treats you with respect, no matter what the circumstances may be. He is by far one of the best attorneys I have come in contact with and I highly recommend him.
Read less
Posted by Dier | May 18, 2012
Hardworking Straight-Talker
I, unfortunately, have had contact with many attorneys in my life, and Mr. Novick has to be one of the most up-front ones I have ever dealt with. There was never any question that he had my best interest in mind and I never got any sense he was trying to "BS" me.
Posted by anonymous | February 9, 2012
A Real Genuine, and Honest Person
I was caught shoplifting, I hired Mr.Novick to represent me at a magistrate hearing and the files were dismissed. He was the only lawyer in the courtroom who wasn't arrogant, or over-confident - his personable attitude with the judge won the fight. There were about 15 hearings before mine and only a few of them were dismissed, most had expensive over-confident lawyers whose interaction with the judge were, to say the least 'un-professional' Mr.Novick saw which interactions worked best with the judge and presented my case in a very professional manner without overwhelming the judge. He was extremely affordable, knowledgeable about the Quincy court system, honest, and I would highly recommend him to anyone in trouble with the law.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.4 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Criminal Defense Lawyer
  • Novick & Associates, LLC
  • 2015 - Present
  • Criminal Justice Faculty
  • Northeastern University
  • 2004 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Keegan & Novick, P.C.
  • 2012 - 2015
  • Attorney
  • Law Office of Stephen T. Novick
  • 2003 - 2012
  • Police Officer
  • Large Metropolitan Boston Area Police Department
  • 1993 - 2004
  • Corrections Officer
  • County Sheriff's Office
  • 1991 - 1993
View all work experience

Education

  • Suffolk University
  • MBA
  • 2005
  • New England School of Law
  • Juris Doctorate
  • 2003
  • Western New England College
  • MSCJA
  • 1999
  • Western New England University
  • BSLE
  • 1996
View all education

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Commonwealth v. MD
  • 19 out of 21 Indictments Dismissed!
  • Commonwealth v. GH
  • No Probation Violation Found!
  • Commonwealth v. JK
  • Not Guilty
View all legal cases

Associations

  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Attorney Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • National College of DUI Defense
  • General Membership
  • 2011 - Present
  • Northeastern University Faculty Association
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • United States Supreme Court Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Massachusetts Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • Massachusetts Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • Norfolk County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • Suffolk County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • Suffolk Lawyers for Justice
  • Panel Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Certification
  • Lead Counsel
  • 2014
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2013
  • Rising Star
  • Massachusetts Super Lawyers
  • 2013
  • Massachusetts Rising Star
  • Boston Magazine
  • 2013
  • Preeminent 5.0 out of 5
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • Special Recognition-General Membership
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • 2013
  • Special Recognition-General Membership
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • 2012
  • Who's Who
  • Biltmore
  • 2012
  • Bar Admission
  • United States Supreme Court
  • 2008
  • Zealous Advocacy in the District & Juvenile Courts
  • Committee for Public Counsel Services
  • 2005
  • Dean's List-MBA
  • Suffolk University
  • 2004
  • Dean's List-JD
  • New England School of Law
  • 2003
  • Dean's List-JD
  • New England School of Law
  • 2002
  • Medal of Valor
  • Webster Police Department
  • 2000
  • Dean's List-BSLE
  • Western New England University
  • 1998
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Graduate Level College Class
  • Negotiation, Mediation, Facilitation
  • 2012
  • Graduate Level College Class
  • Negotiation, Mediation, & Facilitation
  • 2012

Attorney endorsements

Received (19)
Given (16)
Endorse Stephen
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Simply said, Stephen is a great criminal defense lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Steve is a great lawyer, who fights for his clients and is well respected by Judges and fellow attorneys."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Stephen. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 28
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Excellent attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Attorney Novick is always very well prepared when representing his clients. I have observed him in the courtroom on countless occasions, and his clients are very lucky to have him as their lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Novick is a distinguished well respected attorney in the community. He is a powerful advocate for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Stephen is one of the best around. His communication and work ethic is unmatched. I am proud to endorse Stephen."
Unknown Attorney | Jul 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have worked on cases with Attorney Novick for a number of years. Attorney Novick is an experienced, hard working attorney. He is dedicated to his clients and gets positive results. Attorney Novick is one of the best attorneys in his field."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Stephen Novick. He is a talented and well respected criminal defense attorney who I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a lawyer who knows the law and truly cares about protecting the rights of his clients and getting them the most favorable result possible."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 25
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Novick is a gifted and extremely talented Attorney. He is dedicated to service his clients and he does this through his hard, experience and education that he has received. Given his past experiences and training as a police officer coupled with his experience as an attorney and that of being a professor gives him insight that few others could ever hope to have. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Novick is well respected as a diligent, aggressive and experienced litigator among his colleagues. He continually educates himself on recent caselaw and its interpretation and relevant application to his client's cases. His arguments are persuasive and demonstrate his thorough knowledge of his case and his commitment to advocating for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I sincerely endorse this lawyer. Attorney Novick is dedicated to the profession. I strongly recommend Attorney Novick with confidence to anyone across Massachusetts in need of a criminal defense lawyer. I have worked with Attorney Novick for several years in many criminal defense matters and found that he handles each case with diligence and professionalism. I have heard only positive feedback from his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I recommend Attorney Novick without hesitation for any client requiring a criminal defense attorney in Massachusetts. His experience as a lawyer and police officer bestow upon him a unique understanding of the criminal justice system from both sides of every case. Attorney Novick works tirelessly for his clients, guiding them with competence and compassion through the difficult journey of the criminal justice system."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I recommend Attorney Steve Novick with confidence to anyone in need of a criminal defense attorney in Massachusetts. I have worked alongside Attorney Novick for several years in many criminal defense matters and found that he handles each case with diligence and professionalism. Attorney Novick offers his knowledge and experience as a former police officer when advocating for his clients in court. He is compassionate to the concerns of his clients and truly understands and embraces the fact that he is their voice in court. He provides his clients with competent guidance throughout the legal process and I have heard nothing but positive feedback from clients I have referred to him."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Wills and living wills
Criminal defense
Workers compensation
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Personal injury
Boston Criminal defense Lawyer Stephen T. Novick
Stephen T. Novick
Criminal defense Attorney
Boston, MA
Licensed for 20 years
Free Consultation