My son was arrested for a dui, went to court got a 45 day suspension has to take the alcohol program which he is doing and everything required. He got a letter from the registry stating he can get his license back (the 45 days is up) for $500.00 ...
If the case was settled within the first 30 days, then it should be only $500. But if the 30 day suspension expired, then it's $1000See question
This is my first criminal offense, and i got an OUI. my car was parked in a parking spot and turned off, my friend was throwing up so i went to go help him, as this was going on cops drove by and he ran for it, the officer came up to me and saw th...
In Massachusetts, unlike other states, OUIs follow you for the rest of your life. They don't fall off after five or ten years. What happens in that court room will follow you forever and the only person on your side in that courtroom will be your lawyer. Don't go to court alone.See question
I am ordered to have the interlock device in my car for 2 years, once my suspension is over. A friend of mine has heard that if someone has no violations for a year plus in Massachusetts the hearing officer at the RMV may qualify for early removal...
I have not heard about this. The statute ["Melanie's Law"] requires a full two years after all other OUI suspensions are completed. I don't think a hearing officer is empowered to override the statute. However, there is no harm in asking and no cost for the hearing. You may as well do so. Also, congratulations on having no violations in over one year. That is not easy. Good luckSee question
Got a DUI and will be in court Feb 2 in boston/brighton district. Do I require an attorney or can I represent myself in order to save money?
In Massachusetts a DUI follows you for the rest of your life. In other states they can drop off your record in ten years. How this case is handled will follow you forever. There are times in your life when you need a doctor and times in your life when you need a lawyer. When you've been arrested for DUI in Massachusetts, that's one of those times. Absolutely hire an attorney and one who specializes in DUI.See question
Got pulled over for crossing yellow line . refused breath test ...police told me I would only lose license for six mouths for refusal. tricked me.
Yes, you do indeed have a chance to get your CDL back; however, not right away. The federal statute governing CDLs permits someone in your position to re-apply for their CDL ten years after it was suspended for life. Thus, in 2023 you will be apply to re-apply.See question
I got 6 criminal chargers which are Unregistered MV Fail to stop at stop signs Attaching plates Refuse to stop Operate MV without license Unregistered MV I just want to know what can be done in my case. I don't have a regular court...
It has been my experience that a judge will most likely make a finding that there is no possibility of jail in your case You would then have to hire your own attorney or represent yourself. Of course, if you have faced such charge many times in the past, there may be a possibility of jail and you would get a court appointed lawyer. You would not be able to get one appointed for the clerk magistrate's hearing however.See question
On my probation form, the alcohol testing box is checked off but the box for a random drug test box is not
If the box for random drug tests is not checked on your form and nothing was said in court about random drug tests, then you are not subject to random drug tests. This has been my experience in Massachusetts courts. However, I am not sure what state you are referring to.See question
My husband was stopped while driving with an international license which is not an acceptable license to drive with in mass, but they charged him with driving with a revoked license. From my understanding he was never issued a mass license therefo...
The correct charge should be "unlicensed operation." That is an arrest able offense, not the seat belt violation. It is likely the DA in court will amend the charge to this and move to dismiss it on court costs alone. This would usually be about $300See question
My driver's license was suspended for 45 days for OUI. I went to the RMV on the 48th day and they told me I first have to see a hearing's officer? Why? The judge told me in 45 days I could get my license back. I didn't drive during the entire susp...
Yes, this is very annoying but the RMV is the licensing agency and sets those rules. Essentially, all the hearing officer will do is count that 45 days have passed and then send you to the counter to pay $500 to g4t a paper license on which you can drive that very day. The hearing officer will not ask you about your case at all. Apparently they don't think the people behind the RMV counter can count up to 45. Remember to bring cash, the RMV card swipers are not yet chip compliant.See question
I have a 24q evaluation coming up and would like to be prepared.
I have never heard of a liver function test being part of a 24Q evaluation. It is my understanding that the 24Q involves a meeting of about one hour or so with either a social worker or in some courts, a probation officer, to discuss the severity of your drinking behavior.. You will have to pay about $150 for this evaluation but it should not involve any blood draws.See question