Skip to main content

Jennifer Holly O'Brien

Criminal defense Attorney at Billerica, MA

5.0   17 reviews
  • Licensed for 27 years
    State MA
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Jennifer

Learn Jennifer’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Appeals
    40%
    Has handled hundreds of appeals in the Appeals Court, Supreme Judicial Court, and Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Bar advocate at the appellate level for all criminal cases from misdemeanor convictions to first degree murder convictions.

    28 years

  2. Criminal defense
    40%
    Providing criminal defense in the District, Superior and Federal Courts for both misdemeanor offenses and serious felonies. Bar advocate for Middlesex Defense Attorneys.

    28 years

  3. Family
    10%
    Has 19+ years experience representing clients in domestic cases including but not limited to divorce, custody, child support, contempt, and modifications.

    28 years

  4. Personal injury
    10%
    Has 19+ years experience representing plaintiffs in wrongful death cases, or otherwise injured in car accidents, slip and fall accidents, and dog bites.

    28 years

Our firm specializes in a number of areas of law and takes pride in the dedication and commitment invested into every case. We understand that at times, our services are required during periods of extreme hardship and duress. It is our goal to provide to you, the direction and guidance you will need when you most require it.

 

I have been practicing law since 1996 and opened my firm in 1998. Since then, the vast majority of my private clients have been referred to me from former clients who were happy with my representation. I take pride in my work, strive to obtain positive results for my clients, and genuinely care about everyone I represent. I regularly practice in the District Courts, Superior Courts, Appeals Court, and Supreme Judicial Court. I am also sworn into and practice in the Federal Court at the District and Appellate level. I am qualified to accept court appointed cases at the trial level and on appeal. In addition, I am a member of the post conviction murder panel thus am qualified to accept cases where defendants have been convicted of murder.

 

My experience also includes the following:

 

*  Moot Court judge - Fitchburg State College - 2011-2013

*  Mock Trial Judge - Lowell High School 2010

*  Middlesex County Bar Advocate 2004-present

*. Member of the Greater Lowell Bar Association 

*  Social Committee Member - Greater Lowell Bar Association 2012

*  Private Counsel Post Conviction Advocate 1999-present

*  Mentor to several members of Massachusetts Post Conviction Panel

*  Author of monthly column in the "Billerica Green" newspaper - 2009-2011

 

Photos and videos

Location

Jennifer Holly O'Brien
630 Boston Road
Billerica, MA, 01821

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  17 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Erin | August 11, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Law Office!
Jen and her team were timely, professional and efficient. They were able to get everything accomplished with my personal injury as quickly as possible. They were easy to work with and answered questions I had as soon as I asked them. Highly recommend!!
Posted by Abby | July 7, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jen is amazing!!
Jen is the best criminal defense attorney that I know! She is very intelligible, kind, and respectful and I would recommend her to everyone.
Posted by Suzanne Gualtieri | December 5, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Testimonial
I highly recommend Jennifer O’Brien. She is a top notch criminal defense lawyer. She is always professional and will give 110% every time!
Posted by R.R. | September 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Couldn't be happier!
I was found guilty of carrying a firearm without a MA license and hired Jennifer on appeal. She convinced the judge to let me out of jail immediately while my case was under appeal. She then got the judge to give me a whole new trial! I am so grateful to Jennifer for giving me my life back. I could not be happier!
Posted by Tyrell | September 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best Lawyer Ever!
I hired Jennifer for a criminal case that I had. The cops pulled me over in Lowell and searched my car. I was charged with drug possession. I met with Jennifer and she read my police report. Immediately she said that this was an illegal search and that there is a good chance that we can get this case dismissed. We had a hearing where she made the cop look like a fool. We won the hearing and because of it the prosecution dropped the case. I hope I never get arrested again, but if I do I will be hiring Jennifer. She is the best attorney I have ever had!
Read less
Posted by Jill | September 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer, recommend to family & friends
Anytime I or someone I know needs a lawyer Jen is the first one I think of & recommend. She did a wonderful job with our wills & health proxies giving us a little piece of mind. Jen also helped a family member with a divorce. She fought for her clients best interest & made a difficult situation very manageable.
Posted by J. Lisa | September 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended!!
Attorney O'Brien is someone you would want on your side. Her years of experience reflect in her professional disposition as in my case. Attending court is never easy and can be very stressful, however Attorney O'Brien is someone who you can trust and will represent your best interests to the fullest. She represented my case in a family dispute. I highly recommend Attorney O'Brien.
Read less
Posted by SFM | September 8, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Can't say enough!
I was charged by the police with many crimes - larceny, breaking and entering, uttering, conspiracy, and forgery. The police said I was guilty just because I was in a car with someone who had committed these crimes. Jennifer filed a motion saying I should never have been charged and the judge agreed and dismissed my whole case. I cannot say enough about her in court. I would hire her in a second if I was in trouble again.
Read less
Posted by Carmen | September 7, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Responsive, knowledgeable and trustworthy
Jen has worked with my family on numerous occasions on a variety of issues. Each and every time, we find her to not only be extremely responsive when we reach out to her, but we can also count on her keeping us up-to-date on the current status or on any new information. She also does a great job of clearly communicating the process, as well as what our options are. And although she does offer her advice, she is in no way over-bearing, only providing us with the information so that we can make the best decision for our family.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 7, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Trial Lawyer!
Attorney O’Brien really went to bat for me at trial when I was charged with identity fraud. It was a tough case and I was so worried about the outcome. She is definitely comfortable in court and is a great trial lawyer. Her closing argument was absolutely amazing! Thankfully I was found not guilty of all charges and was able to finally put the whole thing behind me. I highly recommend her, esp if you are ever put in a position like I was and you need someone who will really go to bat and win for you!!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 1, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lying landlord
When I moved out of my apartment, my landlord lied and told the police I wrecked her apartment, stole things from inside, and even threatened her. I told Jennifer I was innocent and would never take any plea deal. She was in my corner from beginning to end and tried my case before a jury who found me not guilty of all charges. Her cross-examination of my landlord was masterful. She was able to catch her in so many lies! I hope I never need her again but if I or anyone I know does, she will be the first person I call!
Read less
Posted by D. Miller | August 31, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Appellate Attorney
Jennifer was my appellate lawyer for a Murder 1 appeal, she did an amazing job, she was attentive, answered all & any of my questions in full detail, explained each element of my case, case errors & correspondence in full detail, she guided me through a very tough time of life to the best ability. Jennifer also researched & argued my case & case errors to the fullest, she kept me very updated & informed on all court proceedings, she is always available to take my calls. Jennifer put her heart & soul into not just my appeal, but also fighting for my rights & my family & for that I can not thank her or her staff enough.
Read less
Posted by John Miller | August 26, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Look no further
If ever I have a question about a Criminal case, Appeal, or Family Law situation, I consult with Jennifer - and she has never let me down! Jen is intelligent, down to earth, and very easy to talk to; she is able to explain complex issues in a manner that anyone can grasp. Simply put, Jen is the attorney you've been looking for.
Posted by Maura R. | August 25, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
She's a fighter!
I highly recommend Jennifer O’Brien for any criminal case. She is very articulate, well prepared and a great trial lawyer. It is clear that she is comfortable in court and knows the law well. She explained everything to me so I always knew what was going on with my case and what to expect when we went to court. Because of her efforts, I was found not guilty of all charges against me. I hope I never need her again but if I do, I would never even consider hiring anyone else.
Read less
Posted by Ingrid | January 5, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fantastic Attorney!
Attorney Jennifer O’Brien is a practicing trial attorney with expertise in various areas of the law and I can't say enough about Attorney O'Brien and her firm. She has been our family Attorney for many years now and we are very thankful and grateful for everything she has done and is still doing. She is honest and conducts her practice with an extremely high level of integrity. She is also a very caring person that truly believes in each one of her clients that she or her firm represents. And even though she is extremely busy with clients, she always returns calls and concerns I may have. I would highly recommend the O'Brien Law Office to anyone who needs a lawyer.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 31, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
great
“I highly recommend Jennifer as a lawyer. My husband and I had her draft our wills. She also represented us with several civil situations, and my husband on one criminal case, which she got dismissed. Through the years I have sent many clients. Everyone I have ever referred to her has raved to me about how personable she is and how effective she is as a lawyer. I have seen her in court many times. She is completely comfortable, articulate, and knows the law. Her rates are also extremely reasonable. It is refreshing to know an attorney who is not simply looking to get every penny from you. If she doesn’t use her retainer, she will actually give it back! Imagine that! She will also refer you to another attorney if it is an area of law that she doesn’t practice instead of taking your money and pretending to know what she is doing. I cannot recommend Jennifer enough! I would and do call her first whenever I am in need of a lawyer!”
Read less
Posted by Donna | December 30, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Credit Manager
I have hired Attorney O'Brien on several occasions to collect accounts receivables on outstanding balances that were due my company. Attorney O'Brien pursued these accounts and prevailed by obtaining judgments and liens on checking accounts to recover these debts and her methods proved to be very successful. Attorney O'Brien is a very professional, dedicated and dependable attorney whom I would highly recommend.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.6 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • owner
  • O'Brien Law Offices
  • 1998 - Present

Education

  • New England School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1996
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1992

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Commonwealth v. Sien
  • motion to suppress allowed - case dismissed
  • Commonwealth v. Raba
  • conviction reversed and vacated
  • Commonwealth v. Morris
  • conviction reversed and vacated
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Middlesex County Bar Association
  • 1996 - Present
  • Greater Lowell Bar Association
  • 1996 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Voted Superlawyer for Criminal Defense
  • SuperLawyers Magazine
  • 2021
  • Voted Superlawyer for Appellate Practice
  • Superlawyers Magazine
  • 2020
  • Favorite Billerica Attorney - 1st place
  • Wicked Local Magazine Reader's Choice
  • 2017
  • Favorite Regional Attorney - 2nd place
  • Wicked Local Reader's Choice
  • 2017
  • Favorite Attorney-Honorable Mention
  • Wicked Local Reader's Choice
  • 2016
View all awards

Publications

  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Properly Insured Keeps Drivers Safe
  • 2011
  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Laid-Off and Child Support
  • 2011
  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Simple Homestead Protection
  • 2010
  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Small Claims Court
  • 2010
  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Physical vs. Legal Custody
  • 2010
  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Divorce Settlement Equation
  • 2010
  • Billerica Green Newspaper
  • Obtaining a Will, Made Easy
  • 2010
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Greater Lowell Bar Association CLE
  • Appellate Advocacy
  • 2010

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (9)
Endorse Jennifer
Appeals Attorney | Apr 02
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Attorney O'Brien is a brilliant appellate advocate and trial attorney. I have worked with her on many matters and she truly is a creative, diligent and passionate attorney. I would recommend Attorney O'Brien to any attorney seeking professional guidance or creative solutions to complex legal matters."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Sep 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Jen is that type of lawyer who gets it! She understands the issues of divorce and all of her cases and clients. She knows what needs to be done. She is realistic about what goals are acceptable and what are not. She is up front with the client, especially those i have sent to her, they all have been very happy with the service and results she has accomplished. Jen has that way of telling you what is real and not real -- my clients need to hear this and they appreciate the advice. I have known Jen for over 15 years as a lawyer and friend, have appreciated the mutual support we have grown to expect."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Sep 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney O'Brien is a rare lawyer who provides exceptional service at a reasonable rate. Her office is run with efficiency and personal care. All clients (which I have gladly referred over the past decade) have expressed joy with her service."
Family Attorney | Sep 05
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 30
Relationship: Co-worker
"I have worked with Jennifer for many years and I can say unequivocally that she is an outstanding criminal defense and appellate lawyer. She is very knowledgeable about the law, and her tremendous writing ability and keen eye for issue spotting allow her to advocate for her client's in a way that only an attorney with 20 years of experience can. I cannot recommend Jennifer highly enough; not only is she a tremendous attorney, but her thorough preparation of every case allows her clients to breathe easier knowing they are in very capable hands."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Jennifer is an exceptionally skilled criminal defense lawyer in my opinion. I have worked with her on major felony cases, including murder appeals. Most importantly, she is down to earth, cares deeply about her clients’ cases, and fights for her clients tirelessly. I highly recommend her!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jennifer is a great trial and appellate lawyer. I highly recommend her."
View more endorsements
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Estate planning
Divorce and separation
Bankruptcy and debt
Divorce and separation
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Billerica Criminal defense Lawyer Jennifer Holly O'Brien
Jennifer Holly O'Brien
Criminal defense Attorney
Billerica, MA
Licensed for 27 years
Free Consultation