Legal Guides for Employment
Written by attorney Elizabeth Franqui, over 3 years ago.
The New York Wage Theft Prevention Act, signed into law in December 2010 and effective April 1, 2011, imposes new requirements on employers to provide written notice to all employees with... more
Written by attorney William Broemer, about 1 year ago.
Can Texas employers require employees to accept their compensation through direct deposit or debit card?
The short answer is yes and no. Texas employers can require employees to accept... more
Written by attorney Christopher Canlas, over 3 years ago.
In California, no employer shall make any deduction from the wage or require any reimbursement from an employee for any cash shortage, breakage, or loss of equipment, unless it can be... more
Written by attorney Joshua Borsellino, over 1 year ago.
Overtime pay is governed by federal legislation known as the Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA"). As a general rule, employees are entitled to be paid one and a half times their regular... more
Written by attorney Vincent White, over 1 year ago.
Deductions from Wages
Section 193 of the New York State Labor Law
193. Deductions from wages.
* 1. No employer shall make any deduction from the wages of an employee, except deductions... more
Written by attorney Michael Tonsing, over 1 year ago.
A word to wise employers.
The United States Department of Homeland Security (abbreviated "DHS") recently issued a new "Employment Eligibility Verification" I-9 form, on March 8, 2013. It... more
Written by attorney Carl Shusterman, over 3 years ago.
The Government says to all employers of H-1B workers:
"Show Me the Money!"
One small local employer of H-1B workers was forced by the Labor Department to pay over $500,000 in back pay... more
Written by attorney Charles Watson, over 1 year ago.
Determining the differences, or
If it looks like a duck, and it quacks like a duck...
Are you working 60 hours a week, but not getting overtime?
Have you been working for the same... more
Written by attorney David T Barton, over 1 year ago.
The minimum wage will change on January 1, 2013 in several states and some municipalities. Where local minimum wage laws exceed the federal minimum wage, employers must follow the local law.... more
Written by attorney Tyson B. Snow, over 2 years ago.
Utah's legislature has defined how employers and employees are to handle wages upon separation. Note the differences between an involuntary / lay-off and a voluntary termination.... more