1

First Offense DUI

Marin County prosecutors do not negotiate on DUI cases. That is to say, that you will either have your case not filed (e.g., due to a low blood alcohol level), you will plead guilty or you will take your case to trial. If you decide to plead guilty to a standard first offense DUI you will be placed on probation including the following typical terms: 3 year conditional sentence/informal probation; lead a law abiding life; no jail or alternative jail; $1,648.00 fine; $30.00 court security fee; $100.00 restitution fund fee; mandatory attendance at a DUI school 3 to 9 months depending on your blood alcohol level. The California DMV will also suspend your driving privilege for 6 months as a result of a fist offense conviction.

2

Second Offense DUI

The standard minimum punishment on a second offense DUI in Marin County includes: 3 year conditional sentence/informal probation; lead a law abiding life; an order not to drive without a valid license and insurance and with no alcohol in your blood; 96 hours in the county jail and 11 days on a work alternative program or ankle bracelet program; fines, court security fees and $100.00 restitution fund fee; mandatory attendance at a multiple offender DUI school for 18 months. The California DMV will also suspend your driving privilege for 2 years as a result of your conviction. You may be able to apply for a restricted driving privilege after 90 days with an ignition interlock installation.