What is the Georgia Super Speeder Law?

Posted over 4 years ago. Applies to Georgia, 3 helpful votes

Email

1

The reason for this new law

Governor Perdue wants us to believe the reason for this law is an attempt to cause folks to drive slower and save lives in the process. He's voiced public service announcements airing on radio stations warning Georgians about the crackdown. However, most folks believe the reason for this law to finally be enacted this past year is simply to generate revenue for the State of Georgia as the money goes to the State's general fund.

2

Nuts & Bolts of the law

If you are convicted or plead guilty/nolo contendere to a charge of Speeding in excess of 85 mph on an interstate or four lane road, you will be subjected to an additional penalty of up to $200.00 on top of the fine amount for the original speeding ticket. If you are convicted or plead guilty/nolo contendere to a charge of Speeding in excess of 75 mph on a two lane road, you will be subjected to an additional penalty of up to $200.00 on top of the fine amount for the original speeding ticket.

3

How this works.

After you have been adjudicated guilty by the local court, that Court will report the conviction to the Georgia Department of Drivers Services. Once this information is entered into the Georgia Department of Drivers Services database, correspondence will be generated and mailed to you at your address of record with the Georgia Department of Drivers Services. This correspondence will contain information as to the amount you owe and how this amount is to be paid.

4

Failure to respond to the notice of the additional fine

Should you not pay the additional fine, the Georgia Department of Drivers Services will suspend your driving privileges. In order for your driving privileges to be re-instated, you will have to resolve this additional fine amount first and then you will be eligible to apply for re-instatement with the Georgia Department of Drivers Services. If you are eligible to have your driving privileges re-instated by the Georgia Department of Drivers Services, you will also have to pay a re-instatement fee.

Additional Resources

Kimbrell & Burgar, LLC - Attorneys at Law

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

26,653 answers this week

2,811 attorneys answering