Understanding Gun Laws in Your State

Posted over 2 years ago. 1 helpful vote

Email

Do you know the laws regarding weapons in the state of Texas? Ignorance can cause unintended criminal charges regarding purchase, possession, and concealed/unconcealed carry. To prevent a mistake such as this, be sure to educate yourself on the laws regarding each of these areas, as well as what legal action you can take if you are faced with false weapons charges. The Statutes on Firearms and Explosives In the State of Texas, the age a person can generally own and carry a firearm is 18. However, in the case of purchasing, owning, and carrying a handgun of any kind, they must be 21 years or older. The following are basic piece of information regarding long guns (shotguns and rifles) and handguns:

Long guns: No State Permit is needed for purchase if the buyer is 18 or older. There is also no registration or owner license required, and no carry permits are issued.

Handguns: No State Permit is needed for purchase if the buyer is 21 or older. There is also no registration or owner license required. Carry permits are issued in the case of handguns.

For both long guns and handguns, the Texas Statutes state that municipalities “may not adopt regulations relating to the transfer, private ownership, keeping, transportation, licensing, or registration of firearms, ammunition, or firearm supplies." However, they may regulate the discharge of firearms (for noise, damage, and other such disturbances), the carrying of firearms in public parks, government meetings, and schools. For more information, read further in the Texas Statutes, Section 229.001 entitled “Firearms; Explosives." To clarify some common confusion, though there is no carry permit required for handguns for use on property you own and control, it is illegal to openly carry a firearm in public since it may cause alarm. Therefore, concealed carry licenses are required to carry a handgun in public places. Types of False Weapons Charges With such detailed laws about purchasing, possessing, and carrying firearms, one might think that fighting weapon charges is a waste of time; but that is not true. Even with such specific laws, false accusations do occur. If a person accuses you of a criminal offense involving your weapon and you are licensed to carry, you may have a case against their charges. If you were on your own property, you could dispute the charges. Also, in Texas a person has the right to shoot any person who unlawfully forcibly entered their home with the intention of harming the person, kidnapping, or stealing from their home. Don’t hesitate to get legal representation if you have been charged for a weapon-related crime for which you are not guilty.

Additional Resources

For a Plano criminal defense attorney</a> who could skillfully and effectively defend you against false weapons charges, contact the Zendeh Del Law Firm. They will take the time to get to know you and your situation, and will dedicate themselves to fighting for your freedom. At their firm, they want nothing more than to help you succeed in dropping your false charges. With their level of experience and history of success, you will put your case in good hands by entrusting it to them. Contact a Plano weapons charge lawyer from the Zendeh Del Law firm today to schedule a free consultation. They may be able to aggressively defend you and give you the peace of mind that you need.

Plano Criminal Defense Attorney

Contact a Plano Criminal Defense Attorney

Plano Weapons Charge Lawyer

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

25,391 answers this week

3,227 attorneys answering