Three times may be the charm when it comes to most things, but a third DUI offense can lead to grave consequences. Some of these penalties include:

  • An increment of jail time. First time DUI offenders in California get 6 months, meanwhile 3rd offenders can possibly get a maximum sentencing of up to one year in jail
  • The monetary fines are relatively the same as a first time DUI offenses, with the maximum being $1,000
  • DUI offenders who repeat the offense for the third time in ten years are also subject to up to three years of license suspension.
  • The informal probation will range between 3-5 years.
  • The drug education program will last almost three years, or more specifically: 30 months.

Other third DUI penalties in California may include:

  • The assignment of an habitual traffic offender record to the driver’s files
  • An installation of an ignition interlock device. This equipment prevents habitual offenders from starting the car’s engine if he/she is intoxicated.
  • It should also be noted that after 18 months of license suspension on a third DUI penalty, drivers are able to apply for a restricted license – and most successfully with the help of a DUI attorney.

Definition of DUI for the Third Time:

A 3rd DUI is basically recorded in California law as having a blood alcohol count of 0.08% or greater while driving, and doing so at least three times within 10 years. It should be noted that if someone commits a DUI out of state, this will also be considered a repeat DUI offense in California.

If you’re facing fines for a 3rd DUI, the attorneys at MacGregor & Collins can help you. The California DUI law firm will examine all aspects of the case, in order to get the best possible outcome. Call us today at (949) 250-6097.