Tempe Man Charged with Attempted Robbery and Shoplifting

Posted over 1 year ago. Applies to Phoenix, AZ, 0 helpful votes

Email

55-year-old Harry Williams of Tempe, AZ recently failed at robbing two businesses within walking distance of his home near Broadway & Rural Roads.

Unconvinced Cashiers

First, Williams walked into an Ace Hardware, put his hand under his shirt, told the cashier he had a gun, and demanded all the money in the register. The cashier, who doubted the presence of the gun, told Williams that he didn’t have any money. Williams demanded that he open the register, but the cashier simply told him, “no."

Williams then walked across the street to a Safeway and again attempted to convince a cashier he was committing a robbery. He was soon escorted from the building. He was, however, able to make it back into the store to steal one sausage.

Police soon caught up with Williams and found that he did have a 4 or 5 inch long knife in his pocket. He was booked for attempted robbery and shoplifting.

Attempted Charges in Arizona

A.R.S. 13-1001 defines attempt as a person doing any of the following:

  • Intentionally engaging in conduct that would constitute an offense.
  • Engaging in an act that is intended to aid a person in committing an offense.
  • Intentionally doing or omitting to doing anything which is any step in a course of conduct planned to culminate in commission of an offense.

Robbery is typically charged as a class 4 felony in Arizona. According to Arizona law regarding attempted crimes, Williams would likely be charged with a class 5 felony for attempted robbery.

Additional Resources

Attempted Robbery & Shoplifting Charges for Tempe, AZ Man

Rate this guide

Related Topics

Criminal defense

Criminal law establishes the classifications of crimes, how guilt or innocence is determined, and the types of punishment or rehabilitation that may be imposed.

Criminal charges

Criminal charges are formal accusations in court that someone has committed a crime. Criminal charges have many classifications and degrees of severity.

Daniel P. Hilf

Driving While License Suspended

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Michigan is a misdemeanor offense (according to MCL 257.904(3)(a)) that carries a maximum potential jail sentence of up to 93 days, and/or a... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

33,918 answers this week

3,653 attorneys answering