Parents may not think they have any influence over their teenager’s behavior, but a chilling recent study suggests the opposite.
According to the Highway Traffic Safety Administration, almost ten thousand people die on U.S. roads each year in DUI accidents. Drunk driving is a serious issue in our country and the punishment that follows a conviction can be severe. Being arrested for OUI (Operating under the Influence), also known as DUI (Driving under the Influence), could lead to steep fines and even time in state prison. However, if you have been arrested for OUI and you are under the legal drinking age of twenty-one, the laws and punishments are extremely strict. If you are pulled over and given a breathalyzer test, a reading of .02% or higher is enough to get you charged with OUI.
No parent wants this for their child. You may believe that adolescent drunk driving is due to peer pressure or lack of maturity. However, a new study published in the Accident Analysis and Prevention Journal found that the parent’s relationship with alcohol also plays a role. A University of Florida associate professor of health outcomes led the study. She and her team found that 6% of teenagers who admitted to drunk driving had parents who also drank. For parents who did not consume alcoholic beverages, the number was only 2%. Even if the parents only drank occasionally, there still was an effect on their children.
Although this may not sound like a vast difference, the main idea is that parent’s use of alcohol does affect their children. However, it is important to remember that even if parents do not drink, the youth’s peers will also have a tremendous influence on their behavior. If parents allow their underage children to consume alcohol and spend time with other teenagers who do the same, their risk of DUI is increased. The study advises that prevention efforts should start before the age of fifteen. These adolescents need to understand the seriousness of OUI and the consequences that may ensue.
If a family member has been accused of underage OUI, they could have fines of up to $2,500 and be required to attend a sixteen-week alcohol treatment program. Not only that, but they could lose their license for up to 210 days. However, breathalyzer tests and chemical blood tests are not completely accurate and people can be falsely accused of driving while intoxicated. Whether or not a loved one was falsely accused or knows they have made a mistake, they need qualified legal representation to defend them. Do not let one mistake negatively affect your future.
Boston DUI Defense Group is located in Boston, Massachusetts. Their Boston DUI defense attorneys are dedicated to helping clients charged with every kind of DUI/OUI offense. Contact a Boston DUI defense lawyer from their firm today!