Refusing a Breathalyzer in Connecticut

Posted about 2 years ago. Applies to Connecticut, 1 helpful vote

Email

If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test in Connecticut your license will automatically be suspended. The period of suspension will depend on your age and whether you have refused to submit to a breathalyzer test before. If you are 16 or 17 and refuse to submit to the test then your license will automatically be suspended for 18 months for the first offense, 3 years for the second offense and 6 years for the third offense. If you are between the ages of 18 and 20 the length of suspension is 1 year for the first offense, 2 years for the second offense and 6 years for the third offense. If you are over the age of 21 the penalties are lower, with the term of suspension being 6 months for the first offense, 1 year for the second offense and 3 years for the third offense. For any suspension as a result of refusing to submit to a breathalyzer your license suspension will begin 31 days after your arrest. You will get a letter from the DMV that indicates the effective date of your suspension and provides information on how to request a hearing to contest the suspension. In addition to your license being suspended, the fact that you refused to submit to a breathalyzer test can generally be admitted into evidence if you take your case to trial and a juror is allowed to draw a negative inference from this fact.

Additional Resources

Holmes & Poirier

Rate this guide

Related Topics

DUI

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

26,975 answers this week

3,380 attorneys answering