Personalized license plates are available in the State of New Jersey for a one-time fee of $50 (in addition to the regular registration fee.
No personalized plate combination which is considered offensive will be approved for issuance. The law governing issuance of Personalized license plates states that such plates may not be issued to any person who has been convicted of one or more of the following offenses listed within the last 10 years:
R.S. 39:4-50“Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or while ability is impaired by alcohol or refusing to take a Breathalyzer test."
R.S. 39:4-96“Reckless driving."
The law forbids the issuance to any person who has been convicted of:
R.S. 2C:11-5“Death by auto or vessel."
No person who’s driving privilege in New Jersey has been revoked or suspended “for any reason whatsoever, within the two year period preceding the date of application may be issued personalized or courtesy plates. Such persons may reapply two years after the privilege is restored.
COMBINATIONS YOU MAY SELECT:
Personalized license plate combinations are limited to a minimum of three letters and a maximum of seven characters (letters, or letters and number). No punctuation marks or symbols, such as the silhouette of New Jersey, can be used. The plate can accommodate seven characters or spaces and each character takes a full space. The same combination can be issued for more than one vehicle if owned or leased by the same person, provided no more than six spaces are used in the combination. The additional sets of plates will have a small dash number,-2,-3, etc., following the registration number. A separate application and $50 fee is required for each additional set. Combinations having three letters and the numbers 1 through 20 are considered “courtesy plates" and the senator of your election district must approve your request before it is submitted. The fee for a “courtesy plate" is $30.
A roundup of the best tips and legal advice.