Oklahoma's Implied Consent Warning

Posted about 4 years ago. Applies to Oklahoma, 1 helpful vote

Email

If you are arrested in Oklahoma for DUI or APC, the officer is required to read you an Implied Consent Test Request to determine if you will submit to the State's test. The current version is as follows:

  1. You have been arrested and the arresting officer has reasonable grounds to believe that you were driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants.
  2. You are requested to submit to a test or tests for the purpose of determining the presence and/or concentration of intoxicants in your body.
  3. The test will be a (breath) (blood) test and will be administered at no cost to you.
  4. In addition to this test, you may at your own expense, have an additional test of your choice provided that a sufficient quantity of any speciman obtained shall be available to the State for testing.
  5. You are not entitled to consult with an attorney prior to making your decision on whether or not to submit to the State's test.
  6. You may refuse the State's test, but as a consequence, your driver's license will be revoked or denied by the Department of Public Safety.
  7. If you consent to testing, are 21 years of age or older, and the test result is .08 or more alcohol concentration, your driver's license will be revoked or denied by the Department of Public Safety. If you are under the age of 21, consent to testing and the test result is .02 or more alcohol concentration, your driver's license will be revoked or denied by the Department of Public Safety.
  8. Will you take the State's test?

Additional Resources

Oklahoma DUI Penalties

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

25,433 answers this week

2,749 attorneys answering