NEW California Law That Affects almost all homeowners in California

John Bernard Palley

Written by  Pro

Probate Attorney - Sacramento, CA

Contributor Level 13

Posted about 3 years ago. 0 helpful votes


I normally write about wills, trusts, probate and the like as relates to California as I am a California estate and trust attorney located in Sacramento. I know this is off topic but it caught me by surprise so thought I would tell you.

My neighbor Jim works in the construction industry; building bridges and stuff. He recently told us about this new law which, as of July 1, 2011, required us to have a carbon monoxide detector in our house. I, the know-it-all lawyer, said that couldn’t be. I was sure it applied only to rental properties or only when you sell your house. However, guess what? The bridge builder knows more than the lawyer about the law in this case.

It basically applies to all existing single-family homeowners that have fossil-fuel burning appliances, fireplaces and/or attached garages. The law requires a carbon monoxide detector must be installed in these homes immediately.

I scoured the internet and there are a few different ways you could be discovered to be in violation of the law:

1) When inspector at house if you need a building permit;

2) Upon re-finance of house;

3) Upon law enforcement being in your house for some reason;

4) Upon sale.

It appears you have 30 days to fix or face a fine. However, why not go get one and be done with it!? I am going to Home Depot this weekend!

Oh ya, they are supposed to be outside sleeping rooms so you might need more than 1 for your house depending on the layout. Visit for more info on the above as I just told you everything I know.

As always please visit our main website for more information about California wills, trusts and probate at

Additional Resources

Our Web Site

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

23,269 answers this week

2,652 attorneys answering