Molestation of a Child in Arizona

Posted about 3 years ago. Applies to Phoenix, AZ, 1 helpful vote

Email

‘Molestation of a child’ is generally charged as a sex crime under Arizona law. Individuals in the Phoenix metro area can be accused of ‘molestation of a child’ if they intentionally or knowingly engage in, or force someone else to engage in, sexual contact with a child who is 15-years-old or younger.

Arizona law also states that child molestation can be charged as a class 2 felony. Depending on the location of the crime and the circumstances of the case, felonies for child molestation can be tried in Federal or Arizona state court. If convicted, child molestation offenders can face severe penalties, such as time in state prison, hefty fines and/or numerous hours of community service. In addition, convicted child molestation offenders can also have a permanent criminal record that will follow them for the rest of their lives.

Since the consequences of a child molestation conviction in Arizona can be very severe, make sure that you talk to a criminal defense attorney if you’ve been charged with a sex crime involving a minor.

Additional Resources

Child Molestation Can Be Charged as Class 2 Felony in Arizona

Rate this guide

Related Topics

Criminal defense

Criminal law establishes the classifications of crimes, how guilt or innocence is determined, and the types of punishment or rehabilitation that may be imposed.

Criminal record

Your criminal records show your history of criminal convictions and sometimes arrests. Criminal records are accessible online and from county clerk offices.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

26,816 answers this week

3,372 attorneys answering