Misdemeanor Classifications in Illinois

Posted almost 6 years ago. Applies to Illinois, 14 helpful votes

Email

1

Class A Misdemeanors

Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $2500. With any misdemeanor, including the Class A misdemeanor, the sentence a defendant receives can include other terms such as probation, substance-abuse treatment, and community service work. Common Class A misdemeanors include Possession of Drug Paraphernalia, Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol, Illegal Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor, Battery, Theft, and Possession of Cannabis (over 10 grams but not over 30 grams). At a defendant's first court appearance, the judge presiding over the defendant's case will inform the defendant of the level of misdemeanor he or she has been charged with.

2

Class B Misdemeanors

Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1500. Common Class B misdemeanors include Criminal Trespass to Real Property, Possession of Cannabis (over 2.5 grams but not over 10 grams), and certain kinds of Harassment by Telephone.

3

Class C Misdemeanors

Class C misdemeanors are punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1500. Common Class C misdemeanors include Possession of Cannabis (up to 2.5 grams) and a type of Disorderly Conduct.

Additional Resources

Illinois Compiled Statutes: Classification of Misdemeanor Offenses

Illinois Compiled Statutes: Sentence for Class A Misdemeanor

Illinois Compiled Statutes: Sentence for Class B Misdemeanor

Illinois Compiled Statutes: Sentence for Class C Misdemeanor

Illinois Compiled Statutes: Possession of Cannabis

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

32,417 answers this week

3,262 attorneys answering