Discusses changes to Oregon's minimum wage, and claims that can be made when minimum wage is not paid in Oregon.
Minimum wage rates
Oregon minimum wage rate varies by year as follows: (1) 2007 $7.80; (2) 2008 $7.95; (3) 2009 $8.40; and (4) 2010 $8.40 (5) 2011 $8.50 (6) 2012 $8.80
Other claims that may exist where minimum wages are not paid
Where the Oregon employee is no longer employed, the employee may also have a second claim asserting that all wages were not paid timely upon termination. Where this occurs, the employee may be due penalty wages under Oregon law. The penalty wages are calculated by multiplying the regular hourly rate, likely the minimum wage rate, by 8 hours per day, until paid or 30 days have elapsed. Thus the maximum penalty at the current minimum wage rate of $8.40 per hour would be $2,016.00.
Costs and Attorney Fees
In addition to the claim for not paying minimum wages, the Oregon statutes contain provisions which allow the employee to recover their costs and attorney fees. Some attorneys will take cases on a contingent basis and front all costs of litigation.