How to Wear, Carry, or Transport a Handgun Legally in Maryland
In the State of Maryland it is illegal to wear, carry, or transport a handgun on or about your person concealed or open as well as illegal to wear, carry, or transport a handgun in a vehicle while traveling on roads used by the public. A first time violation of the law can result in a misdemeanor conviction and minimum 30 days and maximum 3 years in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,500. However, there are a number of exceptions to this rule and if you plan on transporting, wearing, or carrying your handgun, you should be aware of the Maryland laws.
Those exceptions include, among others; law enforcement, a member of the armed forces on duty, a correctional officer, sheriff, or have been issued a permit to wear and carry a handgun under Title 5, of the Public Safety Article of Maryland.
For individuals that do not fall under one of these exceptions, then the only time that you are allowed to wear, carry, or transport a handgun are when you are transporting the handgun to or from the place of legal purchase or sale or to or from a bona fide repair shop for the handgun. In addition, it is allowed when you’re traveling between bona fide residences or between your residence and your place of business, but the business must be operated and owned substantially by you. If you find yourself under one of these conditions then each handgun must unloaded and carried in an enclosed case or enclosed holster. It is suggested that the handgun be carried in the trunk of a vehicle.
In addition, you are allowed to wear, carry, or transport a handgun when traveling to or from a target sport, sport shooting event, hunting, and a number of other sport events as long as the handgun is unloaded and carried in an enclosed case or enclosed holster.
Also, you may wear, carry or transport a handgun on real estate that you own or lease or where you reside or within the confines of a business that you own or lease.
Although not exhaustive, this covers the bulk of the Maryland Handgun Statue. If you are unsure as to the law, contact a licensed attorney for advice.
Criminal Defense Attorney