How to save your license in a DUI arrest!

Glen W. Neeley

Written by  Pro

DUI / DWI Attorney - Ogden, UT

Contributor Level 12

Posted about 5 years ago. Applies to Utah, 1 helpful vote



Request the hearing within 10 days of the arrest.

Read the fine print at the bottom labeled "Right to a Hearing". It tells you exactly what to put in the request and where to send it. The hearing must be requested within 10 calendar days, NOT business days. If the request is even 1 minute late, the DLD will not give the person a hearing and will suspend or revoke the license.


Attend the Hearing

Go to the hearing. If the officer does not show up or call in, the license is saved (at least until the criminal case is resolved). The hearing must be set by the DLD within 29 days of the arrest. The hearing can be held in person or via telephone if arrangements are made beforehand.


Question the Officer

Question every aspect of the officer's case. Point out the reasons that the breath machine result was wrong, the reasons why the officer's observations were wrong, and why you were not a drunk driver that night.


The Decision

DLD will not give you a decision on the day of the hearing. It will come in the mail approximately 10 days after the hearing. If the decision was to suspend/revoke, then you have the option to appeal the case to a district court if the appeal is filed within 30 days of the decision from the DLD.

Additional Resources

For more information:

Utah DUI Trial Lawyer

Rate this guide

Related Topics

Criminal defense

Criminal law establishes the classifications of crimes, how guilt or innocence is determined, and the types of punishment or rehabilitation that may be imposed.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

25,744 answers this week

3,291 attorneys answering