How to Save Your Drivers License After A Utah DUI Arrest

Philip Laurence Wormdahl

Video posted by  Pro

DUI / DWI Attorney - Salt Lake City, UT

Contributor Level 10

Posted about 2 years ago. Applies to Utah, 1 helpful vote

Email

The driver's license hearing is a critical part of a DUI defense. First, you have to request the hearing within 10 days of the date of arrest or your license will automatically be suspended. Second, you and your lawyer can use the hearing to convince Driver's License Division to return your license to you and avoid the suspension.

Additionally, the driver's license hearing is a key part of your case because it gives your lawyer an opportunity to cross examine and question every thing that the officer did when he arrested you. Driver's license hearings are recorded and the officer must swear to tell the truth. So, the officer's testimony at the drivers license hearing can be used in court later to demonstrate the mistakes that the officer made.

Last, if you win your driver's license hearing, not only do you get your license back, you also can get a refund for your State Tax impound fee.

Additional Resources

Drivers License Hearing Written Request Form

Rate this guide

Related Topics

DUI

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

26,722 answers this week

3,399 attorneys answering