Educate your child about DUI
Of course, none of us want our children drinking and driving, but we all understand that we can't monitor every move of teenagers. Therefore, it's important to educate them about DUI. The most important fact that your young driver should know is that while the legal limit for drivers 21 and older is .08 percent BAC, in California, drivers under 21 can be arrested for DUI with a BAC of just .01 percent. If the driver's BAC is .01 percent to .04 percent, the DUI will likely be charged as a civil violation. If the BAC is .05 percent or greater, the driver can face criminal charges.
Inform your children about their responsibilities before they get behind the wheel
Your underage driver should know about California's "implied consent" law. This means that any driver who is lawfully arrested for being under the influence must consent to a breath or blood test. Drivers younger than 21 are also required to perform field sobriety tests, unlike drivers 21 and older.
Tell your child about the consequences of a DUI conviction
The penalties of a California DUI conviction are extremely harsh. Your child's driver's license can be suspended for a year or more, or the licensing process can be delayed. A judge can also order the minor's vehicle impounded and sold if a driver or passenger under 21 had alcohol or an open container. If your child's BAC is found to be .08 percent or greater, he or she can face all of the repercussions of an adult DUI if convicted.
If your child is arrested for DUI, contact a skilled attorney immediately
A DUI can negatively impact your child's life for years to come, so it's imperative to have an experienced defense lawyer on the case as quickly as possible. I am always available to answer any questions you have about a California DUI arrest. Just give me a call at 1-800-NO-CUFFS or visit my website at CaliforniaDUIHelp.com.