Skip to main content

How Much Time Do I Serve On An "a" Misdemeanor In New York?

Posted by attorney Theodore Robinson

If you are convicted of an "A" Misdemeanor in New York state, you can serve up to 1 year in jail, 3 years on Probation or be fined a maximum of $1000. However, its important to remember that you get 1/3 off for good behavior in the county jail so that means you only serve 8 months in jail on a 1 year sentence. As for probation, the court can also give you a "split" sentence meaning you can serve some jail time and the rest of the three years on Probation. There are also surcharges, crime victims fees and restitution that can be imposed as part of your sentence.

Additional resources provided by the author

iF

Author of this guide:

Was this guide helpful?

Can't find what you're looking for?

Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer