Skip to main content

How Much Can A Landlord Increase The Rent?

Posted by attorney Douglas Wright

If a tenant has a lease for more than 30 days, the rent cannot be increased during that lease unless the lease provides for an increase.

By comparison, if the tenant has a periodic rental agreement (e.g., month-to-month), the landlord can increase the rent but the landlord must give proper advance notice in writing. This writing must also inform the tenant how much the rent will increase and when the increase goes into effect. The notice can be delivered two ways: one, by personal delivery, or two, by first class mail.

Under California law, the landlord must give at least 30 days advance notice if the rent increase is more than 10 percent (or less) of the rent charged at any time during the 12 months previous to when the increase takes effect. A 60 day notice is required where the rent increase is greater than 10 percent. If the landlord chooses to serve the notice by mail, the landlord must give the tenant an additional 5 additional days advance notice, i.e., 35 or 65 total days prior to the schedule increase.

Additional resources provided by the author

Douglas A. Wright is a partner with Wright, Ryan & Anderson, A Professional Law Corporation. Doug owns and operates www.EvictionsInc.com, an online eviction service representing property owners and managers throughout California. Contact Mr. Wright at (866) 236-3989 or visit http://www.evictionsinc.com.

Author of this guide:

Was this guide helpful?

Can't find what you're looking for?

Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer