In Arizona, if you are convicted of your third DUI within 7 years, it will likely be charged as a felony. The mandatory minimum sentence for a felony DUI is 4 months prison. Being charged with DUI can be a scary experience. Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation.
Your first court appearance for a DUI should be your initial appearance. At your initial appearance, you will be advised of the charges against you and a new court date will be set. This new date is normally called a pre-trial conference. The pre-trial conference is a time when your attorney and the prosecutor may exchange discovery and negotiate about what should happen with your case. Either your attorney will succeed in dismissing your DUI, you’ll enter a plea agreement, or you’ll set the case for trial. For more information about DUIs in Arizona, you can also watch my YouTube video.