First Time DUI? Here’s What You Need to Know About Your Charge.

Thomas Gregory Haren

Written by  Pro

DUI / DWI Attorney - Westlake, OH

Contributor Level 6

Posted almost 2 years ago. Applies to Ohio, 1 helpful vote

Email

A first time DUI/OVI charge in Ohio is generally a misdemeanor of the first degree. The penalties can be harsh. You may receive several months of probation, community service, ignition interlock device installation, driver’s license suspension and/or increased automobile insurance rates, in addition to possible jail sentences and fines.

Jail and Fine Penalties

If convicted, you may face jail time, a fine, or a Driver’s Intervention Program. The penalties mentioned here may increase if your BAC was greater than .17 percent.

For a first time DUI/OVI conviction, the maximum prison sentence is a term of 6 months. You can be sentenced to a mandatory jail term of 3 days, although that sentence can be stayed by the court if you are sentenced to probation and enrollment in a driver’s intervention program. If you have a high BAC (.17 percent or greater), the court will not be able to stay the jail sentence and you may have to complete the program on top of the 3 day sentence. If you refuse to participate in the program, you could face an extra 3 days in jail instead.

The Driver’s Intervention Program is a 3 day program. Keep in mind that the court may also sentence you to a drug or alcohol treatment/education program.

On top of those penalties, you can also face a fine. In fact, the court is required to impose a fine of between $375 and $1,075.

License Suspension

If you are convicted of your first DUI/OVI charge, you will face a class five license suspension, as per Ohio Revised Code § 4510.02. The court must impose a suspension from between 6 months and 3 years, although the court may allow limited driving privileges for educational, vocational or occupational purposes. The court may require you to complete a remedial driving course before your full driving privileges are reinstated.

A DUI/OVI conviction will also result in 6 points being assessed on your license.

Consult a First Time OVI Defense Lawyer

Please remember that nothing on this page is legal advice. It is provided for informational purposes only.

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, call my law firm at (216) 369-9106 to schedule a free consultation. Or, you can use the contact form to the right to send an email directly to me.

Share this:

Additional Resources

Haren Law, LLC Website

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

28,099 answers this week

3,045 attorneys answering