Felony DWI in Minnesota

Posted almost 5 years ago. Applies to Minnesota, 3 helpful votes



The Criminal Case of Felony DWI

A person may be charged with a felony - first degree - DWI under the following circumstances: (1) The driver has within the previous ten years, three or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents. A prior impaired driving incident would include DWI convictions or Implied Consent license revocations for separate impaired driving incidents; or (2) The driver has previously been convicted of a felony DWI crime.



A person who is convicted of a felony DWI may be imprisoned for not more than seven years UNLESS the person has a prior criminal history which can enhance the potential sentence; a fine of not more than $14,000; or both.


Early Release Limited

Even more compelling, a person sentenced to incarceration in prison for felony DWI is not eligible for early release unless the person has successfully completed a chemical dependency treatment program while in prison.


Recommended Sentences

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence of 36 months, 42 months, and 48 months for a felony DWI conviction for a person with zero, one, or two criminal history "points" respectively, and they specify a presumptive commit-to-prison for a person with a criminal history score of three or more.

Additional Resources

For more information visit http://www.dwicounsel.com

Rate this guide

Related Topics


The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

29,102 answers this week

3,338 attorneys answering