What Does the Prosecutor Have to Prove to Convict Me of a DUI in California

Posted about 4 years ago. Applies to California, 1 helpful vote


In order to be convicted of your everyday first time DUI in California, under Vehicle Code section 23152 the prosecution must prove (beyond a reasonable doubt):

(a) It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle; or (b) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.

The key components to a DUI in California is that the person actually drove, or moved, the vehicle no matter how slight, and that the person was under the influence and/or .08 or higher AT THE TIME OF DRIVING. What the level of BAC was at the time of the chemical test is important, but it does not mean that was the level of intoxication at the time of driving.

Additional Resources

Law Offices of David Shapiro 3555 4th Avenue San Diego, CA 92103 (619) 295-3555

San Diego DUI Attorney

Rate this guide

Related Topics


The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

Criminal conviction

A criminal conviction may lead to jail time, fines, and/or probation. Felony convictions can also restrict voting rights and access to public assistance.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

27,204 answers this week

3,390 attorneys answering