Arizona has some of the harshest penalties for DUI in the country. If convicted of a DUI in Arizona, there are mandatory penalties that include jail times, fines, fees, and a license suspension. For first time offenders, a DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor and has a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail, $2,500 in fines plus surcharges and fees, a minimum 90 day license suspension, up to 5 years of probation and an ignition interlock requirement for all vehicles you drive for at least 1 year.
What are the minimum penalties for a DUI conviction in Arizona?
The minimum penalty for a first time DUI conviction in Arizona is 10 days in jail, of which 9 may be suspended upon the completion of alcohol classes and treatment. The fines and fees total nearly $1,800 and there is a 90 day license suspension requirement. It may be possible to reduce your license suspension to 30 days and have the remaining 60 days as a restricted license.
For an Extreme DUI, or a DUI with an alcohol concentration of greater than .15, the minimum jail time increases from as little as one day on a regular DUI to no less than 30 days in jail. The fines and fees also increase dramatically with an Extreme DUI conviction.
A conviction for a Super Extreme DUI, or a DUI with an alcohol concentration of greater than .20 increases the penalties you are facing even more by increasing the fines greatly and moving the minimum jail time to 45 consecutive days.
If you are being charged with a DUI in Arizona, you are facing extreme consequences that can have very long lasting effects. For a free consultation, call my office today at (480) 745-1572.
A roundup of the best tips and legal advice.