Costs Typically Associated with a DUI Charge in the State of Washington

Posted over 3 years ago. Applies to Washington, 1 helpful vote

Email

1

Department of Licensing Hearing

Unless you qualify for a waiver, you will need to pay the Department of Licensing $200 for a hearing on the administrative suspension of your driving privilege.

2

SR-22 Insurance

If your driving privilege is suspended you will need to obtain SR-22 insurance for at least 3 years following the suspension in order to have your driving privilege reinstated. SR-22 insurance costs vary greatly depending on your age, zip-code, driving record, etc. A ballpark figure may be in the range of $300 to $800 per year, but the cost could be vastly different depending on your circumstances and your insurance provider. You should get 3 to 5 quotes from different insurance providers before making your decision.

3

If your driving privilege is suspended:

You will need to pay the DOL a reinstatement fee of $150. You will also need to schedule an alcohol assessment with an approved Washington State Agency. This assessment must be paid in advance and costs from $100-200. Depending on the results of that evaluation, you may have to complete an alcohol treatments requirement ranging from a one-day Alcohol and Drug Information School (ADIS) to a full fledged in-patient treatment program. ADIS we typically costs around $100. Finally, you must schedule a Victims Impact Panel. The cost for adults 18 and over is typically around $50.

4

Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and License

If you are convicted the Court may order you to install an Ignition Interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. There is an installation cost as well as a monthly rental fee. You should about receiving a referral card for a discount on your first months fee. The installation fee may be as high as $75 and removal fees total around $25. Monthly fees are around $65 to $75 per month. The Court will also order you to apply for an Ignition Interlock License (IIL). There is an application fee of $100.

5

Probation

If convicted, you may be asked to pay Probation Fees. These fees vary between courts so you should make sure you are paying the correct fees by contacting the court you were convicted in. These fees generally run from $75-100 per month (active) and may be reduced to $10 per month (inactive). Probation usually lasts for 2 to 5 years.

Additional Resources

The Department of Licensing Website is an excellent source of information and requiorements. http://www.dol.wa.gov/

Rate this guide

Related Topics

DUI

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

SR22 license liability insurance

An SR-22 form is a method of proving insurance coverage that is frequently required after a license suspension for DUI or other offenses.

Bart Landon Arnold

What is an SR form in Indiana

The BMV often sends notices to drivers in Indiana requiring the driver to provide information on and SR form. What is this? SR forms are simply forms that provide the BMV with information... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

25,168 answers this week

2,993 attorneys answering