FIRST TIME CONVICTION
A first time guilty conviction of a DUI will most likely be Class A misdemeanor conviction, which is the highest class misdemeanor. A fine up to $2,500.00 Imprisonment for up to 364 days. Probation or conditional discharge for up 2 years A fee of $100 payable to the circuit court who is to deposit the fee in the Trauma Center Fund. A fee of $5 to the circuit court to be deposited with the Spinal Cord Injury Paralysis Cure Research Trust fund. POSSIBLE DRIVER LICENSE REVOCATION
SECOND CONVICTION IN FIVE YEARS
In addition to the penalties mentioned above Illinois statute requires a minimum of 5 days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service. In addition your license will be revoked for a period of five years.
THIRD DUI CONVICTION
A DUI charge may be enhanced to aggravated DUI which is a class four felony. This carries a sentence of 1-3 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections. In addition your license may be revoked permanently.