Posted over 3 years ago. Applies to California, 1 helpful vote



It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years who has 0.05 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle (VC 23140). In addition to being subject to criminal penalties for the violation, the under age 21 driver is also subject to automatic license suspension or revocation if a preliminary alcohol screening test measured the his/her blood-alcohol level to be above 0.01 percent or if the he/she refused or failed to complete such a test. In addition, it is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years to drive a vehicle while that person has a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.01 percent or greater (VC 23136(a)). However, this violation is neither an infraction nor a public offense and is subject only to civil penalties to be administered by the Department of Motor Vehicles through its civil administrative procedures which can result in a 1 year suspension of driving license. However, the under age 21 person will be subject to criminal and greater civil penalties if his or her blood-alcohol level is 0.08 percent or greater. The violation under Vehicle Code Section 23136(a) is not a bar to prosecution under Vehicle Code Section 23152 or 23153 or under any other provision of law. DUI – Drunk Driving cases are very complex and require special knowledge. DUI-Drunk Driving defense attorney Manuel J. Barba has that knowledge. Attorney Manuel J. Barba is a member of the National College for DUI Defense and the California DUI Lawyers Association. In addition Mr. Barba is a member of California Attorneys for Criminal Justice, California Public Defenders Association, and the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. Attorney Manuel J. Barba has also attended the National Criminal Defense College in Macon, Georgia. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI-Drunk Driving, call DUI attorney Manuel J. Barba today for a free consultation.

Call today for a free consultation Toll Free: 1-866-442-2722

Riverside-Corona-Temecula: (951) 680-9125

Chino-Rancho Cucamonga-San Bernardino: (909) 591-2256

Palm Springs-Indio-Victorville-Barstow: (760) 770-3377


Additional Resources

For more information, visit my websites at and

Riverside, California DUI Defense

Palm Springs, California DUI Defense

Rate this guide

Related Topics


The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

29,226 answers this week

3,584 attorneys answering