What Is California Burglary
Burglary is more than just breaking and entering. In updated legal codes within the state of California for CPC 460, this is defined as doing so with one goal – to steal and/or commit a felony or crime.
Determining Factors of California Penal Code 460
Before any case can be brought to court, there are factors of the crime that will need to be verified. Burglary is no different, and these factors include:
· The offender intended to steal something or commit a crime such as murder or embezzlement, just to name a few examples
· As a result, the burglar entered a property other than their own to commit the crime
Penalties and Fines for California Penal Code 460
The fines and punishments for Burglary if convicted, include:
· First Degree Burglary – is breaking into the residence of someone else, with the intent to steal or commit a crime. It’s a felony that subjects offenders to: Prison: up to 6 yrs | Fines: up to $10,000
· Second Degree Burglary – is breaking into anyplace else, with the intent to steal or commit a crime. It’s can be listed as a felony with penalties such as: Prison: up to 3 yrs | Fines: up to $10,000 ; or Misdemeanor for second degree burglary, with sentencing that includes: Jail: up to 1 yr | Fines: up to $6,000 ;
It should be noted that felony or misdemeanor charges are determined by specific circumstances of the case, and the court will deliberate on these, before reaching a conclusion.
How to Hire a Law Firm for California Penal Code 460
If you’ve been arrested for Burglary, you need a competent criminal defense attorney, such as MacGregor and Collins at 949-250-6097 by your side. Some common defenses for burglary include no intent to steal or commit a crime, or that the offender was mistaken for someone else.
Are you new to the State of California and need to learn more about criminal offenses and their penalties? We have built a convenient resource center at the California Section Penal Codes Library.