Breathalyzer Devices Installed After a DUI in Illinois

Posted about 5 years ago. Applies to Illinois, 7 helpful votes

Email

1

How it works

The device is called an ignition-interlock device. You have to blow into it and pass before the car will start. If you register a level of 0.024 or lower, the device allows the engine to start. If your blood-alcohol content is too high, the device prevents the engine from starting. During your trip, the device will require additional tests. This is to prevent a sober friend from doing the initial test to start the car for you. If you fail the test when the car is moving, the device warns you to pull over and the engine is shut off. A report is then sent to the secretary of state's office.

2

How much it costs

Installation of the device will cost you $80. There are monthly fees, as well. You will have to pay $80 per month to rent the device plus $30 a month to the secretary of state. If you are convicted of a DUI, it will cost you $110 per month if you want to drive.

3

How long it's required

If you are convicted of a DUI and had a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 or higher, you are required to drive with the device for five months. If you refuse testing for alcohol and are later convicted, you must use the device for 11 months.

4

Penalties

You have two weeks from the date of a DUI conviction to get the device installed. If you are caught driving without the required device, you face up to three years in prison.

Additional Resources

This applies only to people convicted of DUIs. If you have a DUI case and need a defense attorney, give us a call. We can recommend attorneys in Chicago and across the state of Illinois.

Chicago DUI lawyers

Timeline of a DUI in Illinois

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

26,519 answers this week

2,990 attorneys answering