Personal injury protection (PIP) is mandatory coverage on an auto policy in Florida. This coverage pays 80 percent of "reasonable and necessary" medical costs and 60 percent of lost wages to the driver and passengers of an insured vehicle, regardless of who is at fault. Each vehicle's occupants must submit their medical claims to the respective insurance companies. Florida drivers are required to carry a minimum policy limit of $10,000 PIP and $10,000 PDL. Higher limits and additional coverages are available for additional premiums. Each bill you submit to the insurance company reduces the total benefit available so buy limits which are adequate for your family's needs.
Pain and Suffering Damages
After you have healed as much as you can from your injuries, then you are ready to demand a settlement from the driver who was at fault and his or her insurance company. Florida law requires that you sustain a "permanent injury". This is defined as a partial or total loss of some bodily function, scarring or in the most extreme case, death. Only a medical practitioner can determine of you have suffered a permanent injury, and sometimes that cannot be determined until you have been treating for at least six months. This is why it is so important to seek medical care right away after you have been involved in a car accident and to follow the advice of your doctor and seek all medical treatment that is ordered. If you do not seek all medical treatment ordered, the insurance company will assume you are not injured. The best thing to do is also seek teh advice of an attorney. Our office is always ready to assist you. Call us at 800 375 5208 for a free initial consultation.