A Guide to Arkansas Felony and Misdemeanor Sentences

Justin Kyle Kavalir

Written by

Tax Lawyer - Rogers, AR

Contributor Level 9

Posted almost 3 years ago. Applies to Arkansas, 5 helpful votes

Email

A Guide to Arkansas Felony and Misdemeanor Sentences

By Justin Kavalir

Arkansas has four differing classifications of misdemeanors and six differing classifications of felonies. SeeArk. Code Ann.§ 5-4-401. The criminal statutes describing particular crimes state which level of felony or misdemeanor the crime carries.

Misdemeanors

  • A Class A misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence not to exceed one year.
  • A Class B misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence not to exceed ninety days.
  • A Class C misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence not to exceed thirty days.
  • The Unclassified misdemeanor is a misdemeanor whose sentence is limited by the particular criminal statute. (If a criminal statute states that the crime is a misdemeanor but does not place a limitation on the sentence or otherwise classify the misdemeanor, the crime is presumed to be a Class A misdemeanor.)

Arkansas also has certain limitations on fines that can be imposed for misdemeanors based on the class of misdemeanor. SeeArk. Code Ann.§ 5-4-201.

  • A Class A misdemeanor carries a maximum fine of $2,500.
  • A Class B misdemeanor carries a maximum fine of $1,000.
  • A Class C misdemeanor carries a maximum fine of $500.
  • An Unclassified misdemeanor carries the maximum fine defined in the statute.

Felonies

  • A Class Y Felony carries a minimum sentence of ten years but no more than forty years, or life.
  • A Class A Felony carries a minimum sentence of six years but no more than thirty years.
  • A Class B Felony carries a minimum sentence of five years but no more than twenty years.
  • A Class C Felony carries a minimum sentence of three years but no more than ten years.
  • A Class D Felony carries a maximum sentence not to exceed six years.
  • The Unclassified Felony is a felony whose sentence is limited by the particular criminal statute. (If a criminal statute states that the crime is a felony but does not place a limitation on the sentence or otherwise classify the felony, the crime is presumed to be a Class D felony.)

Like misdemeanors, Arkansas has fine limits in place for the various felony classes. SeeArk. Code Ann.§ 5-4-201.

  • Class A and Class B felonies carry a maximum fine of $15,000.
  • Class C and Class D felonies carry a maximum fine of $10,000.
  • An Unclassified felony carries the maximum fine defined in the statute.

To see which felony offenses are designated each of the above classes, view the following table which lists the various felony offenses in alphabetical order. Also, the Arkansas Sentencing Commission, whose website is here provides a wealth of information on sentencing in Arkansas.

Additional Resources

See the Arkansas Sentencing Commission Website and Chapter 5 of the Arkansas Code.

Rate this guide

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

25,252 answers this week

2,896 attorneys answering