What will happen to me if I "refused" a rolling retest got temporary lock out for 15 min then I took the test again and passed?

Asked over 1 year ago - San Antonio, TX

I have Draeger interlock system with a camera installed in my van. I never had a violation before until yesterday and its stressing me out, I left the van running with the wife and kids while I ran inside a store. The system asked for a retest and my wife panic because I wasn`t back in time and she turned off the van. The device read temporary lock out 15 min. We waited for the time to expire and then I started the van right away. I passed the remainder retest on the way home. I am aware now that refusing a retest is a major violation. I`m just worried that they might think I was drinking or drunk. I reported it to draeger and they said It`s up to P.O for her final decision. I`m really worried because I`ve been on Pretrial for about 2 months and a simple mistake can cause me to violate.

Attorney answers (3)

  1. Martin Ben Zimmerman

    Contributor Level 11


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . While others may disagree with me, IF you really are telling the whole truth without holding back any facts, then I say contact your probation officer immediately and schedule an appoinment with him or her to get ahead of this problem.

    IF you are holding something back, contact an attorney and then proceed from there.

    Good luck,
    Martin Zimmerman

    Martin Zimmerman, P.C. 189 E. San Antonio St. P.O. Box 310704 New Braunfels, Texas 78131-0704 Tel: (830) 606-... more
  2. Gene Raymond Beaty

    Contributor Level 15


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Don't stress, This alone is not to worry about, but be sure to be extra careful in the future.

  3. Macy Michelle Jaggers


    Contributor Level 20


    Lawyer agrees

    Answered . When I've had this situation in the past, my client has not been violated. If a violation is filed, hire an attorney to make sure you do not get revoked.

    Macy Jaggers's answer to a legal question on Avvo does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Ms. Jaggers... more

Related Topics

DUI: An overview

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

DUI and DWI defenses

After you are arrested for DUI, getting the charges against you dropped or reduced will require you to develop a defense.

Randy Collins

California DUI Under Age 21

Definition California DUI Under Age 21, as the name suggests, is when a minor drinks and drives under the influence of alcohol. More specifically, Californias Zero Tolerance laws define... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

29,583 answers this week

3,175 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

29,583 answers this week

3,175 attorneys answering