i was involved with a robbery of the place where i was employed. i did not enter the building i sat in the car. i talked to the dective and they said they where going to indicit me. i have never been charged with a felony before but i have a teft under 500 charge also.
Depends. You first said theft over 1000 (which would be 2-4 years), then you said robbery, but may have ment burglary (3-6 years for robbery, 2-4 yrs for burglary), but if it was robbery and a weapon was involved, then its aggravated robbery (8-12 years). For all but agg robbery, a weapon could enhanse these sentences.
Claiborne H. Ferguson, Esq. is * Certified as a Specialist in Criminal Trial Advocacy by the National Board of Trial Advocacy. * Certified as a Specialist in Criminal Trial Advocacy by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education and Specialization.
Theft over $1,000.00 is a Class D felony and carries a range of punishment in the Tennessee Department of Corrections prison system of not less than two (2) years and not more than twelve (12) years and a maximum fine of $5,000.00. Robbery is a Class C felony and carries a range of punishment in the Tennessee Department of Corrections prison system of not less than three (3) years and not more than fifteen (15) years and a maximum fine of $10,000.00. There are a variety of ranges (Standard, Multiple, Persistent and Career) within the Sentencing Reform Act of 1989 depending on the number of prior felony convictions an individual has. Theft under $500.00 is a Class A misdemeanor and carries a maximum sentence of eleven months twenty-nine days in the county jail and a maximum fine of $2,500.00. There is no minimum jail sentence for a theft under $500 conviction. Both felony convictions and convictions for misdemeanor crimes involving dishonesty or false statement subject the individual to having their credibility called into question under Rule 609 of the Tennessee Rules of Evidence. Theft is a crime involving dishonesty or false statement as interpreted by the Tennessee courts.