Sentencing for First and third degree Grand Theft felony and robbery charges in Florida?
No personal assault or injury; less than $25K stolen property recovered; no prior convictions; on bail-bond pending one out-of-state theft charge.
Criminal Defense Attorney
Based upon your question, it appears that you are asking what is the penalty for first degree robbery and third degree grand theft. If this is the case, the maximum possible sentence for first degree robbery is 30 years and for third degree grand theft, 5 years. If this is armed robbery and the alleged weapon is a firearm (an armed robbery carries with it the possibility of a life sentence), then it falls within the 10-20-Life Statute and there are minimum-mandatory penalties depending upon whether a firearm was used in the commission of the offense. The range of penalties would depend upon one's scoresheet, which takes into account one's prior criminal record. I hope that this answers your question.
10 found this helpful
2 lawyers agree
Federal Crime Lawyer
A simple robbery (without a weapon) in Florida is a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison. A firearm used, even without injury, would elevate it to a first degree felony punishable by life. It could also invoke the 10-20-Life firearm enhancement statute requiring a 10 year minimum sentence if the gun was possessed during the commission of the crime. The grand theft statute is separated into degrees. If the value was $300 or more, but less than $20,000, then it is a 3rd degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. If the value is greater than $20,000 but less than $100,000 it is a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years. Those are maximum possible sentences, however each individual's scoresheet would take the lack of criminal history into calculation of a sentencing range under the sentencing guidelines in Florida.
17 found this helpful
2 lawyers agree