You should contact a criminal defense attorney. As a first time offender, you will get more leniency and receive a more favorable deal but you should have a criminal defense attorney representing you to get the best possible deal.
Hire a criminal defense attorney in Louisville ASAP to represent you. First time offenders are usually probated absent some unusual facts. Get counsel.
I am trying to give you a general answer to your question. We do not have an attorney-client relationship by this response on the avvo website. I have not been retained to represent you. I am licensed to practice law in Kentucky and in federal court in this state and the Southern District of Indiana. You need to seek legal advice from an attorney licensed to practice in your area..
While I thoroughly agree with the other attorneys who answered, here are the potential penalties (worst case scenario):
TBUT / shoplifting: Class A misdemeanor punishable with up to 1 year in jail, a $500 fine or both.
Possession of a controlled substance 3rd degree: Class A misdemeanor punishable with up to 1 year in jail, a $500 fine, or both.
Prescription not in proper container: Class B misdemeanor punishable with up to 90 days in jail, a $250 fine, or both.
Consecutive misdemeanor sentences cannot exceed one year. KRS 532.110(1)(b).
You should hire an attorney.
Kristin M. Russell is an attorney licensed to practice law in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Per Avvo guidelines, these answers are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice. This response does not create an attorney/client relationship.