What are the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim against a person?

Asked over 1 year ago - Los Angeles, CA

what are the time limitations for suing another individual on my own, who's domestic violence/sexual abuse had caused me long term pain and suffering?

Attorney answers (6)

  1. Constantine D. Buzunis

    Contributor Level 17

    10

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . In California the ordinary statute of limitations for perosnal injury is two (2) years from the date of injury, there are some modifications for cases like medical malpractice, etc.
    If you can show the claim is a result of Domestic Violence, then the claim period is three (3) years.
    i would not recommend suing on your own, get a lawyer and do it the right way, and maximize your rights of recovery.

    Legal disclaimer:This message does not constitute legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship.... more
  2. Sean Michael Patrick

    Contributor Level 16

    9

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Generally in California a lawsuit for personal injuries must be brought within 2 years of the injuries. However, facts of the case may cause this general rule to change. I would recommend consulting with a personal injury attorney to evaluate your case.

    I am licensed in California, therefore, my answers are based on general prinicpals of law or California law, which... more
  3. Michael Shemtoub

    Contributor Level 17

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Under California's code of civil procedures, a domestic violence victim has three years from the date of injury to file a personal-injury suit against the perpetrator

    View my website & give me a call for a FREE consultation if you are a California resident 877-427-2752 or you can... more
  4. Alexander Jesus Limontes

    Contributor Level 10

    8

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . I would contact a licensed attorney in California. They can advise you if you have a case and most consultations are free. Good luck.

  5. Christian K. Lassen II

    Pro

    Contributor Level 20

    6

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . State laws vary. Best bet is to contact one of the fine lawyers in your state above to discuss representation.

  6. Manuel Alzamora Juarez

    Pro

    Contributor Level 20

    3

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS IN CALIFORNIA IS 2 YEARS FOR PERSONAL BODILY INJURY AND THREE YEARS FOR PROPERTY LOSS. BEST OF LUCK.

    This answer is provided by California Accident Attorney Manuel A. Juarez, Esq., 510-206-4492. Abogado de... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

25,736 answers this week

2,760 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

25,736 answers this week

2,760 attorneys answering