What are the laws on DUI for a civilian on Fort Carson base? Is my license valid off base, just not on base?

Asked almost 2 years ago - Fort Carson, CO

I caught my first DUI ever. It was on Fort Carson. I am not military. I literally just moved to Colorado Springs. They took my license and made me blow. I blew .131. They arrested me and fined me for speeding (47 in a 30), DUI and driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or more. Mugshot and fingerprints were taken. I had a friend come get me when they were all done. I'm just confused on whats the law on a civilian getting a DUI on a military base.

Attorney answers (5)

  1. Laurie Ann Schmidt

    Pro

    Contributor Level 12

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . IF the driving occurred on the military base, then the DUI laws for the State of Colorado will apply; however the case would be prosecuted in Federal Court and if convicted it would be a federal DUI conviction, not a state conviction. There are several procedural difference and different penalty consequences in a federal vs state court DUI. I would recommend contacting an attorney that practices both federal and state DUI defense.

  2. Daniel Nelson Deasy

    Contributor Level 20

    4

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . I agree completely with Ms. Schmidt. You ought to give her a call.

    In no way am I offering you legal advice, and in no way has my comment created an attorney-client relationship.... more
  3. James C Forslund

    Contributor Level 19

    4

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Your license issues will be controlled by the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. If you have been given a Notice of Revocation, you must request a hearing with DMV within 7 days.

  4. James A Reed

    Pro

    Contributor Level 13

    2

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Fort Carson duis are normally prosecuted in the magistrates court in downtown Colorado Springs by the us attorney's office out of Denver. But, Fort Carson has a curious jurisdictional hodge podge. Sort of a quilt work pattern because of the way the post was out together over the years. Where does the ticket set your first appearance?

  5. Rixon Charles Rafter III

    Contributor Level 20

    3

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Colorado's laws will apply. Get a CO DUI attorney without delay.

    READ THIS BEFORE CALLING OR EMAILING ME: I am licensed to practice before the state and federal courts in Virginia.... more

Related Topics

DUI

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

DUI defense

After you are arrested for DUI, getting the charges against you dropped or reduced will require you to develop a defense.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

16,240 answers this week

2,222 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

16,240 answers this week

2,222 attorneys answering