We are moving back to our rental house. How do we serve notice to our rental tenants?

Asked over 1 year ago - White City, OR

tenants have been there 3 years and we want to give them a 30 day notice the first of april

Attorney answers (3)

  1. Jay Bodzin

    Contributor Level 20

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Tenants who have lived in a rental residence for over a year are entitled to 60 days' notice prior to termination under Oregon law. If you're acting as a landlord, you need to consult with an attorney to ensure that you fully comply with notice requirements. Oregon rental laws are fairly tenant-friendly and landlords can be penalized for not complying properly.

    Please read the following notice:

    Jay Bodzin is licensed to practice law in the State of Oregon and... more
  2. Orion Jacob Nessly

    Contributor Level 15

    2

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Mr. Bodzin gives good advice here. The notice requirements in Oregon's Landlord-Tenant Act are very specific. In addition to you needing to give 60 (rather than 30) day's notice because the tenants have lived there more than one year, there are also requirements about how the notice is served, and what the notice must say. If you haven't served such a notice before, there are many potential mistakes you can make which might allow a tenant to contest a later eviction. This can cost landlords a lot of unnecessary time and money and sometimes a landlord is even ordered to pay a tenant's legal fees for an otherwise innocent mistake. It would be money well spent to consult with a landlord-tenant attorney in your area.

    My responses to posts on AVVO are not legal advice, nor do they create an attorney-client relationship. In order... more
  3. Judy A. Goldstein

    Contributor Level 20

    Answered . You mist comply with the terms of your lease. If the tenants are on a month to month lease, you must give them proper notice. Otherwise, you need to wait until the end of the lease term. For best results, you should consult a a landlord's attorney in the area where the property is located. It may be too late to serve notice on 4/1 if more than 30 days is required by OR law.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

25,415 answers this week

2,937 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

25,415 answers this week

2,937 attorneys answering