Can you renew your driver's license if you have unpaid tickets in Georgia?
Personal Injury Lawyer
If your license has not already been suspended or revoked for not handling the ticket then it may be possible to still renew your license. However if the court submitted a revocation, suspended or canceled your license for not handling the citation or coming to court then you will not have a your license. The normal procedure in most courts is to suspend your license for failure to appear. The simple thing to do would be to find and attorney to handle your ticket.
If your license has not be alrady suspended the Department shall suspend a license for a conviction of any of the following offenses in Georgia or any other state:
1.Homicide by vehicle.
2.A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
3.Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
4.Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.
5.Fraudulent or fictitious use of, or application for a license.
6.Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident.
8.If you refuse to take a chemical test for intoxication, then your license will be suspended for 12 months.
9.Operating a motor vehicle with a revoked, canceled, or suspended registration in violation of Code Section 40-6-15.
10.Conviction for driving without insurance is a 60/90-day suspension.
11.If convicted for driving while license is suspended, revoked or canceled, your driver's license will be further suspended for six months.
12.If you fail to appear in court or respond to a citation, your license may be suspended indefinitely.
13.Your driver's license will be suspended if you are convicted of possession, distribution, manufacture, cultivation, sale or transfer of a controlled substance or marijuana.
14.The Department is authorized to suspend your license if its records or other evidence shows that you have accumulated 15 points within 24 months under the point system, including violations committed out of state.
Your driver's license will be revoked in Georgia, if you are convicted of one of the following:
1.For any third conviction of a mandatory suspendable offense within 5 years, you will be declared a habitual violator. This is a five-year revocation.
2.Refusal to submit to a re-examination of driving skills or knowledge of driving rules after receiving notice giving reasonable grounds for such a request.
3.If there is sufficient evidence of incompetence or unfitness to drive, due to incapabilities by reason of disease, mental or physical disability, or by alcohol or drug addiction.
I hope this helps. Dwayne Singleton
renewal of your license will not be possible if the unpaid citations are not resolved. the dds records will almost certainly reflect the unpaid citation. also be aware that an outstanding warrant may be issued.