Texas laws: when you have person working for you at a small apartment property is there size or other benchmark when ?

Asked 3 months ago - Dallas, TX

1--You have to pay them for any work performed over 40 hours perk week at 1.5 times agreed hourly rate ? 2--Provide workman comp insurance?

Attorney answers (3)

  1. Leigh Hilton

    Contributor Level 9

    1

    Lawyer agrees

    Answered . There is no minimum number of employees before you are required to pay overtime for hours worked over 40 per week. Workers compensation is not required in Texas in most cases. Check www.tdi.texas.gov for more information on worker's comp in Texas.

    This information has been provided for informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal advice. The... more
  2. Brent Allen Devere

    Contributor Level 13

    Answered . Take a look at the Fair Labor Standards Act (federal law), that regulates in part overtime for certain type of employees. It is a common way to recover overtime from employers.

  3. David Jahan Sadegh

    Pro

    Contributor Level 13

    Answered . You may want to check out the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) website--you should be able to get the employer information you need from the TWC in most circumstances.

    This answer is offered as a public service for general information only and should not be relied upon as legal advice.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

27,992 answers this week

3,104 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

27,992 answers this week

3,104 attorneys answering