Unless your original lease contained a clause essentially saying that it would be automatically renewed unless you timely notified the landlord otherwise, your term lease was legally converted to a month to month lease upon expiration of the term. Thus, in this situation, all you need to do is give 30 days advanced notice and move. If you have problems or need help getting the landlord to "see the light", or if, for example, the landlord tries to charge you for the additional months by withholding funds from the return of your security deposit, that can be worth 2X the amount wrongfully not returned, plus your costs and attorneys fees. If you have any problems, talk with a local landlord-tenant attorney. There are several of us in the Portland area and we do this sort of thing regularly and landlords ignore us at their own peril. Give one of us a call or send us an email to make an appointment to review the entire situation. Good luck!
Consumer Law Northwest
Gregory L. Abbott, Attorney
6635 N. Baltimore St., Suite 254
Portland, OR 97203
Practicing Landlord-Tenant Law for Over 20 Years
Nothing contained herein should be considered as legal advice for any specific situation and nothing herein is intended to create a lawyer-client relationship. Every case is very "fact-specific" and persons wishing legal advice on a specific matter should contact me or another attorney for an appointment to review their particular circumstances and to create a lawyer-client relationship. Gregory L. Abbott, Attorney at Law, 6635 North Baltimore, Suite 254, Portland, Oregon 97203. Tel: 503-283-4568; Fax: 503-283-4586; Email: firstname.lastname@example.org. Specializing in Consumer and Small Business Law.
It sounds like you once had a rental agreement for a fixed term of one year, and then you got to the end of that year and both landlord and tenant just kept things going. If this is the case, you are now what we call "month-to-month," and a month-to-month tenant can just give a 30-day notice to the landlord announcing an intent to move out. If the tenant moves out as described in a valid notice, the tenant won't owe any additional rent after the end of the 30-day notice period.
1001 Southwest 5th Avenue #1100
Portland, OR 97204
AVVO 10.0/10.0 perfect rating
One of Oregon's top landlord-tenant lawyers