It's been 24 hours since a car hit me. Should I know by now if I'll be getting charges?

Asked almost 2 years ago - Phoenix, AZ

The hospital took my PBL at 2.0. the accident was not my fault. What can I do now? And also what do I need to do legally to prepare. I have not given any statement.

Attorney answers (5)

  1. Christian K. Lassen II


    Contributor Level 20


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . It can take quite some time before you know whether you are charged . If you are, retain a local criminal lawyer, and do NOT make any statement without your lawyer present.

    Only 29% Contingency Fee! Phone: 215-510-6755
  2. Carmine John Giardino

    Contributor Level 14


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . As you can see, representing yourself without extensive legal experience or knowledge can prove to be a challenge. It may not be possible to learn every law or detail. A lack of time, resources, and knowledge are difficult obstacles to overcome. Your case is complex so it's better to hire a lawyer to handle it for you. There are a lot of excellent lawyers in your city.

    If this answer was helpful to you or if it was the best answer, please click the buttons that state helpful and... more
  3. Sean Michael Patrick

    Contributor Level 16


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Mr. Lassen nailed it. Get an attorney, explain the situation to him, and keep your mouth shut until he advises you otherwise. Best of luck.

    I am licensed in California, therefore, my answers are based on general prinicpals of law or California law, which... more
  4. David E Ledyard

    Contributor Level 12


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . consult with a crimminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.

  5. Manuel Alzamora Juarez

    Contributor Level 20


    Lawyers agree

    Answered . I agree with my colleagues, if you are facing potential criminal charges do not make any statements or admissions on a public forum. Hire a criminal attorney ASAP. Best of luck.

    This answer is provided by Manuel A. Juarez, Esq., El Abogado de Accidentes de Autos de California: 510-206-4492.... more

Related Topics

DUI: An overview

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

23,591 answers this week

2,994 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

23,591 answers this week

2,994 attorneys answering