In the state of Texas what is the age of consent?

Asked about 1 year ago - El Paso, TX

I was wandering the lowest/highest age an 18 year old can have relations with in Texas?

Attorney answers (3)

  1. Bart Charles Craytor

    Contributor Level 17

    2

    Lawyers agree

    Best Answer
    chosen by asker

    Answered . Both of the prior responses are correct. 17 years of age is the age of consent in Texas. Any lower and you could commit a crime. While you might beat the rap, you won't beat the ride, and you will have to prove that the contact was non-threat/violence as well as within the three years of age to be entitled to the defense. (You can't prove consensual contact because a person under the age of 17 years is below the age of consent as a matter of law.)

    Answers provided on Avvo does not form an attorney-client relationship or indicate that the attorney represents or... more
  2. Deepali Meenu Walters

    Contributor Level 16

    4

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Seventeen is the age of consent.

    There is an affirmative defense if you sleep with someone within 36 months of your age (as long as the person is at least 14), but it's a defense. You could still be charged and arrested, you just have a defense to prosecution. So, stick with people your own age, at least 17, and you'll have no problems.

  3. Stephen Andrew Hamer

    Contributor Level 17

    3

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . 17 is age of consent and other attorney is correct regarding... being within 3 years age difference.

    BEST ANSWER I got....and I hope I was HELPFUL! My answers do not... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

27,730 answers this week

3,031 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

27,730 answers this week

3,031 attorneys answering