IMPLIED CONSENT HEARINGS: What is time limit for police to provide hearings officer with information?

Asked over 1 year ago - Portland, OR

My license was suspended after I blew .10 in the intoxilyzer.
I requested a hearing within 10 days.

I have read that the suspension could be overturned if the police do not provide info or provide it late.
How many days do the police have to provide information to the hearings officer or the suspension is dismissed? Where is this in the law ORS or ALRs?

Attorney answers (1)

  1. Jeffrey A Turnoy

    Contributor Level 11

    1

    Lawyer agrees

    Answered . Police officers have to provide their reports at the time of the hearing. This enables the Administrative Law Judge and Defense Attorney the opportunity to review the reports for use at the hearing. However, you should not go into this hearing by yourself. You need to seek the assistance of an experienced attorney who can cross-examine the officer about what happened and the circumstances of the blow. Your chances of success greatly increase if you have an attorney present.

Related Topics

DUI: An overview

The definition, charges, and penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) vary by state and depend on a number of factors.

DUI and DWI defenses

After you are arrested for DUI, getting the charges against you dropped or reduced will require you to develop a defense.

Randy Collins

California DUI Under Age 21

Definition California DUI Under Age 21, as the name suggests, is when a minor drinks and drives under the influence of alcohol. More specifically, Californias Zero Tolerance laws define... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

29,646 answers this week

3,177 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

29,646 answers this week

3,177 attorneys answering