You have an attorney -- you should rely on your attorney. An owner of an automobile is only responsible for up to $15K for personal injury damages, $5K for property damage, except under very limited circumstances which your question does not implicate. A claim in excess of those limits is against the driver, not the owners.
If the owners have insurance, they will have at least these minimum limits. You gain nothing by your efforts. You could prove 100 owners and the results would be the same; the maximum liability for all is the same as liability for one.
I am licensed in California only and my answers on Avvo assume California law. Answers provided by me are for general information only. They are not legal advice or counsel. Answers must not be relied upon. Legal advice and counsel must be based on the interplay between specific exact facts and the law. This forum does not allow for the discussion of that interplay. My answer to any specific question would likely be different if that interplay were explored during an attorney-client relationship. I provide legal advice and counsel during the course of an attorney-client relationship only. The exchange of information through this forum does not establish such a relationship. That relationship is established only by personal and direct consultation with me followed by the execution of a written attorney-client agreement signed by each of us. The communications on this website are not privileged or confidential and I assume no duty to anyone by my participation on Avvo or because I have answered or commented on a question. All legal proceedings involve deadlines and time limiting statutes. So that legal rights are not lost for failure to timely take appropriate action and because I do not provide legal advice or counsel in answer to any question, if you are an interested party you should promptly and personally consult with an attorney for advice and counsel. Also, see Avvo's terms and conditions of use, specifically item 9, incorporated by this reference
You can sue the drivers and owners of a vehicle involved in a crash.
Call for a free consultation at 727-937-1400 or visit us on the Web at www.serviceandjustice.com.
I share Mr. Daymude's views; you need to trust your attorney to do this work. If you don' trust your attorney, I'd encourage you to find one that you do trust. Insurance companies are experts at clouding the issues and hiding facts that don't favor them: you need someone with matching expertise on your side. This is especially so where there is subtle medical evidence like in your case.
Mr. Daymude hit the nail on the head. Talk to your attorney. As far as owners' liability, unless there is a basis to hold them vicariously liable as an employer or liable for negligently entrusting the driver with the vehicle, the owners' will have limited liability as provided in the vehicle code (limit of $15,000). ML Research provides policy limit information. ML Research is helpful, but not as reliable as the interrogatory answers regarding insurance and the policy declaration page that your attorney will get in discovery. Your attomey can request vehicle ownership information from the DMV as well to confirm who was the registered owner on the date of the collision.
Potentially as a permissive user or negligent entrustment. Check into all possibilities.
DISCLAIMER: The information gathered from this website, Tryk Law or Benjamin P. Tryk is not legal advice. If you are in search of legal advice, you should consult with an attorney about your specific situation. Communicating with Tryk Law, Accident Injury Attorneys through the use of this website does not establish an attorney/client relationship. You should not disclose any information that you consider confidential until an attorney/client relationship has been created.
A roundup of the best tips and legal advice.